eBooks: Nutrition

Definitive yet concise, Food Allergy, by Drs. John M. James, Wesley Burks, and Philippe Eigenmann, provides expert guidance for efficient diagnosis and effective management of these increasingly prevalent conditions. The consistent, practical format, with a wealth of case studies, clinical pearls and pitfalls, full-color photos and illustrations, diagrams, and more - along with online access at www.expertconsult.com - make this an ideal quick reference tool for both allergy clinicians and primary care physicians. Quickly reference essential topics thanks to a templated, focused format that includes a wealth of full-color photos and illustrations, diagrams, case studies, and more. Benefit from the knowledge, experience, and global perspective of leading international authors. Deliver the best outcomes by incorporating clinical pearls from experts in the field into your practice. Stay current with timely topics including our latest understanding of non-IgE-mediated food allergies; cross-reactions; future therapies; natural history and prevention; and a review of unproven diagnostic and therapeutic techniques. Access this reference online at ExpertConsult.com, complete with the full text, entire image bank, and more.

The Mediterranean Diet offers researchers and clinicians a single authoritative source which outlines many of the complex features of the Mediterranean diet: ranging from supportive evidence and epidemiological studies, to the antioxidant properties of individual components. This book embraces a holistic approach and effectively investigates the Mediterranean diet from the cell to the nutritional well-being of geographical populations. This book represents essential reading for researchers and practicing clinicians in nutrition, dietetics, endocrinology, and public health, as well as research.

The role of nutrition has moved beyond the food pyramid and the importance of a balanced diet in maintaining a healthy weight, and is now also recognized as a significant contributing factor in addressing age and disease-specific conditions. As research advances into these areas, students approach nutrition from a wide range of perspectives that continue to change and evolve. As the MDR numbers in Market Need below indicate, the number of courses in Medicine, Nursing, Physical Education, Science and Public Health have all increased in the past 5 years. Public Health has grown most drastically as it becomes evident that nutrition has the potential to improve the health of our rapidly aging population, which will in turn affect the services they require as a result of aging in good health vs. poor health, and the role nutrition plays in combating other public health issues such as diabetes, obesity, and heart disease. This is of particular importance in the emerging scenario where medical costs are increasing in cost and services are declining in availability. Students using Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease are seeking insights into how they can improve the health of their patients, clients and consumers as they interact with them in professional roles in medicine, nutrition and dietetics, and even in food development as new products aimed at specific health issues are of increasing interest and public demand.Integration of food issues with nutrition provides a unique perspective to disease prevention/controlMaterial in the book is up-to-date with current researchIndividual sections of the book can be used for mini-courses or in-depth studyDiversity of material makes this text useful for nutritional scientists and also for upper division nutrition course work.

"Extensive research on nutrigenomics has unveiled numerous epigenetic mechanisms that are influenced by our dietary signature. This book illustrates how nutrition can influence epigenetic inheritance and the mechanisms that underlie modification of the metabolic imprint of an individual. The text discusses the basics of nutrigenomics and epigenetic regulation, types of nutrition influencing genetic imprinting, and the role of nutrition in modulating an individual's predisposition to disease. It also covers epigenetic variation, genomic imprinting, maternal nutrition, neonatal nutrition, as well as epigenetics and nutrition relating to cancer, heart disease, and obesity"--Provided by publisher.

"This new volume, Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals for Human Health: Advancements in Natural Wellness and Disease Prevention, provides important information on potential applications and new developments in functional health foods and nutraceuticals. The volume looks at health-promoting properties in functional foods and beverages as well as nutraceuticals. Some health issues that are considered in conjunction with these foods and nutraceuticals include oxidative stress, obesity, pharyngitis, low cognitive concentration among others. Research topics include the antioxidant properties of certain products, the development of functional and medicinal beverages, nutraceuticals and functional foods for alternative therapies, and more. This volume is a valuable reference for professionals involved in product development and researchers focusing on food and nutraceutical products."-- Provided by publisher.

Food Security, Poverty and Nutrition Policy Analysis: Statistical Methods and Applications, Third Edition combines statistical data analysis and computer literacy, applying the results to develop policy alternatives through a series of statistical methods for real world food insecurity, malnutrition and poverty problems. The book presents the latest uses of statistical methods for policy analysis using the open source statistical environment R, in addition to having the original Stata files and applications. A new chapter on obesity brings in new datasets for analysis to effectively demonstrate the use of such data for addressing policy issues. Finally, program evaluation methods which can be directly applied to the data on food security, nutrition, poverty indicators and causal factors are included. This unique, real-world data takes the reader through a "hands-on" approach toward econometric practice whereby they can also test the effects of policy and program interventions. Further, this is the first book to explore actual data with STATA and R statistical packages that also provides a line-by-line guide to the programming and interpretation of results.

An exploration, both personal and deeply reported, of how we learn to eat in today's toxic food culture. Food is supposed to sustain and nourish us. Eating well, any doctor will tell you, is the best way to take care of yourself. Feeding well, any human will tell you, is the most important job a mother has. But for too many of us, food now feels dangerous. We parse every bite we eat as good or bad, and judge our own worth accordingly. When her newborn daughter stopped eating after a medical crisis, Virginia Sole-Smith spent two years teaching her how to feel safe around food again — and in the process, realized just how many of us are struggling to do the same thing. The Eating Instinct visits kitchen tables around America to tell Sole-Smith's own story, as well as the stories of women recovering from weight loss surgery, of people who eat only nine foods, of families with unlimited grocery budgets and those on food stamps. Every struggle is unique. But Sole-Smith shows how they're also all products of our modern food culture. And they're all asking the same questions: How did I learn to eat this way? Why is it so hard to feel good about food? And how can I make it better?

The market is flooded with products posing as elixirs, supplements, functional foods, and olive oil alternatives containing phenols obtained from multiple olive sources. This technically-oriented book will be of value to nutritionists and researchers in the biosciences. It unravels the body of science pertaining to olive minor constituents in relation to new chemical knowledge, technological innovations, and novel methods of recovery, parallel to toxicology, pharmacology, efficacy, doses, claims, and regulation. Topics include: the biological importance of bioactive compounds present in oli.

Genetically Modified Organisms in Food focuses on scientific evaluation of published research relating to GMO food products to assert their safety as well as potential health risks. This book is a solid reference for researchers and professionals needing information on the safety of GMO and non-GMO food production, the economic benefits of both GMO and non-GMO foods, and includes in-depth coverage of the surrounding issues of genetic engineering in foods. This is a timely publication written by a team of scientific experts in the field who present research results to help further more evidenc.

Originally published in 1987, Diet for a New America awakened the conscience of a nation with its startling examination of the food we buy and eat — and the moral, economic, and medical price we pay for it. Drawing a clear line connecting America's factory farm system with disease, animal cruelty, and ecological crises, Robbins makes perhaps the most eloquent argument for vegetarianism ever published. Robbins walked away from his family's business — the Baskin-Robbins ice cream empire — to pursue his dream of promoting a healthy society that practices "compassionate stewardship of a balanced ecosystem." In Diet for a New America he presents both a disturbing portrait of our current system and a vision for the future that will educate and empower readers to change.

Food is at the center of national debates about how Americans live and the future of the planet. Not everyone agrees about how to reform our relationship to food, but one suggestion rises above the din: We need to get back in the kitchen. Amid concerns about rising rates of obesity and diabetes, unpronounceable ingredients, and the environmental footprint of industrial agriculture, food reformers implore parents to slow down, cook from scratch, and gather around the dinner table. Making food a priority, they argue, will lead to happier and healthier families. But is it really that simple? In this riveting and beautifully-written book, Sarah Bowen, Joslyn Brenton, and Sinikka Elliott take us into the kitchens of nine women to tell the complicated story of what it takes to feed a family today. All of these mothers love their children and want them to eat well. But their kitchens are not equal. From cockroach infestations and stretched budgets to picky eaters and conflicting nutrition advice, Pressure Cooker exposes how modern families struggle to confront high expectations and deep-seated inequalities around getting food on the table. Based on extensive interviews and field research in the homes and kitchens of a diverse group of American families, Pressure Cooker challenges the logic of the most popular foodie mantras of our time, showing how they miss the mark and up the ante for parents and children. Romantic images of family meals are inviting, but they create a fiction that does little to fix the problems in the food system. The unforgettable stories in this book evocatively illustrate how class inequality, racism, sexism, and xenophobia converge at the dinner table. If we want a food system that is fair, equitable, and nourishing, we must look outside the kitchen for answers.

"This selection of key presentations from the Food Structures, Digestion and Health conference is devoted to the unique and challenging interface between food science and nutrition, and brings together scientists across several disciplines to address cutting-edge research issues. Topics include modeling of the gastrointestinal tract, effect of structures on digestion, and design for healthy foods. New knowledge in this area is vital to enable the international food industry to design of a new generation of foods with enhanced health andsensory attributes"--Publisher's description.

Genetically Modified Food Sources reports detailed results of studies on the medical and biological safety of 14 species of genetically modified plant-derived organisms (GMOs). The authors focus on issues in GMO production and world output, specifically the basic legislative regulations of modern biotechnology in the Russian Federation. Also covered are international approaches to the medical and biological assessment of safety and control of the food produced from genetically modified organisms. A special chapter is devoted to the problem of informational coverage of novel biologicals.

The foundation of energy -- Feeling spring -- Celebrating summer -- Reaping the harvest of autumn -- Settling into winter -- Putting it all together -- Resources.

All-new easy keto recipes from the author of the best-selling The Keto Instant Pot Cookbook

Building-block basics -- Wraps, fatwiches and other handheld meals -- Thermos lunches -- Fatty bowls -- Keto comfort foods -- Keto fat bombs -- Keto drinks.

Going "keto" by eating in a high-fat, moderate-protein, and low-carb pattern enables you to break free from the disastrous effects of carbohydrate dependency. Instead, you'll reset your metabolism to promote metabolic flexibility -- where your body learns to burn fat instead of sugar for energy, even when you take a break from the plan. Many ketogenic programs require challenging restrictions and deprivation or offer misinformation, but Mark Sisson, publisher of the Mark's Daily Apple paleo blog, presents a two-step approach for going keto the right way. He first reveals the real secret to rapid and sustained weight loss, which is in becoming "fat-adapted" before entering full nutritional ketosis, a process that allows your body to learn to burn fat more efficiently. It takes as little as twenty-one days to reprogram your metabolism to burn fat for fuel by ditching processed grains, sugars, and refined vegetable oils in favor of nutrient-dense, high-fat, primal/paleo foods -- and you'll see immediate results. Next, you'll fine-tune with Intermittent Fasting and then foray into full ketogenic eating for a further weight-loss boost and improved health. With The Keto Reset Diet, you can eat to total satisfaction by enjoying rich, high-satiety foods, and even weather occasional slipups. You'll use keto as a lifelong tool to stay trim, healthy, energetic, and free from the disastrous health conditions caused by the typical American diet. With step-by-step guidance, daily meal plans, and a recipe section with more than 100 delicious keto-friendly recipes, this is the definitive guide to help the keto beginner or the experienced health enthusiast understand the what, why, and how to succeed with ketogenic eating.

"Current, comprehensive, and designed to maximize clarity of essential concepts, longtime best-seller ADVANCED NUTRITION AND HUMAN METABOLISM delivers its signature quality content in a student-friendly way. The 7th Edition continues to set the standard through the authors' ability to clearly and accurately explain even the most complex metabolic processes and concepts, while staying at an undergraduate level. It gives students a solid understanding of digestion, absorption, and metabolism of fat, protein, and carbohydrates; examines the structures and functions of water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins -- including their regulatory roles in metabolism; and provides information on vitamin and mineral food sources, recommended intakes, deficiency, and toxicity. With ADVANCED NUTRITION AND HUMAN METABOLISM, 7th Edition, students will be well prepared to continue their studies in the field of nutrition"--www.amazon.com.

"The updated bestselling guide to human metabolism and metabolic regulationThe revised and comprehensively updated new edition of Human Metabolism (formerly Metabolic Regulation - A Human Perspective) offers a current and integrated review of metabolism and metabolic regulation. The authors explain difficult concepts in clear and concise terms in order to provide an accessible and essential guide to the topic. This comprehensive text covers a wide range of topics such as energy balance, body weight regulation, exercise, and how the body copes with extreme situations, and illustrates how metabolic regulation allows the human body to adapt to many different conditions.This fourth edition has been revised with a new full colour text design and helpful illustrations that illuminate the regulatory mechanisms by which all cells control the metabolic processes necessary for life. The text includes chapter summaries and additional explanatory text that help to clarify the information presented. In addition, the newly revised edition includes more content on metabolic pathways and metabolic diseases. This important resource:Is a valuable tool for scientists, practitioners and students across a broad range of health sciences including medicine, biochemistry, nutrition, dietetics, sports science and nursingIncludes a full colour text filled with illustrations and additional diagrams to aid understandingOffers a companion website with additional learning and teaching resources.Written for students of medicine, biochemistry, nutrition, dietetics, sports science and nursing, Human Metabolism has been revised and updated to provide a comprehensive review of metabolism and metabolic regulation"--Provided by publisher.

The book provides a strong foundation in the science of exercise nutrition and bioenergetics and offers valuable insights into how the principles work in the real world of physical activity and sports medicine. Case Studies and Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition activities engage readers in practical nutritional assessment problems. (http://amazon.com)

"This is the comprehensive guide to utilising nutrigenomics in clinical practice. A cutting-edge field, nutrigenomics examines the effects of foods on gene expression. From a comprehensive patient history and appropriate testing, practitioners can work with the patient to correct underlying biochemical imbalances that may predispose to a disease, using nutrigenomics as a guidance tool. The book covers everything a practitioner needs to know, from the difference between nutrigenomics and epigenetics to what to consider when incorporating nutrigenomics with functional medicine. The book is highly practical, guiding the reader through the realities of using genetic testing in clinical practice"-- Provided by publisher.

Nutrigenetics: Applying the Science of Personal Nutrition provides a fully referenced, readable guide to understanding the rationale and importance of nutrigenetic applications and explains why single nutrition recommendations will not fit everybody or even a majority of modern humans. This books explains how genetic variation shapes individual nutrition requirements and sensitivities, presents questions to ask about reported gene-nutrient interactions, and what needs to be done before putting nutrigenetic tests to practical use. This book blends key concepts from the fields of genetics, biochemistry, epidemiology, public health, and clinical medicine to give a rich perspective on the genetically diverse nutritional needs and sensitivities of individuals in health and disease. A steadily increasing number of people order genetic tests to find out what they should eat for better health, well being and performance, and an even greater number asks their healthcare providers about such tests. Most of the currently offered tests are not grounded in current knowledge, often absurdly so, but few professionals can explain why they are misguided. On the other hand, there are more evidence-supported genetic variants that can guide nutrition decisions, but again most healthcare providers know little about them, much less use them in their daily practice. There is a great need for a solidly evidence-based yet accessible book that explains the science of nutrigenetics and provides the tools to evaluate new nutrigenetic tests. Comprehensive coverage of the emerging science of nutritional genetics and its promise for individually tailored nutrition guidancePresents practical examples to enhance comprehension and spur additional researchOffers a logical progression from what nutrigenetics is, to its possibilities in enhancing health.

Nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics : importance for functional foods and personalized nutrition -- Variations in solute transporter genes affecting micronutrient solute transport and human health -- Genetic variants in the omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acid metabolic pathways : their role in the determination of nutritional requirements and chronic disease risk -- Nutrigenomic approaches to unravelling the physiological effects of complex foods -- Modulating the risk of cardiovascular disease through nutrigenetics -- Modulating the risk of obesity and diabetes through nutrigenetics -- Nutrigenetics and Crohn's disease -- Microbiome and host interactions in inflammatory bowel diseases : relevance for personalized nutrition -- The importance of cell-specific gene expression patterns for understanding nutrient and gene interactions in inflammatory bowel diseases -- Data mining and network analysis : potential importance in nutrigenomics research -- Metabolomics : an important tool for assessing state of health and risk of disease in nutrigenomics research -- Epigenetics : what role could this play in functional foods and personalised nutrition? -- Foodomics to study efficacy of human dietary interventions : proof of principle study -- Considerations in estimating genotype in nutrigenetic studies -- Bringing nutrigenomics to the food industry : industry-academia partnerships as an important challenge -- Commercialisation of nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics -- Bringing nutrigenomics to the public : Is direct-to-consumer testing the future of nutritional genomics? -- Nutritional genomics in practice : interaction with health professionals in bringing nutritional genomics to the public -- Harvesting normative potential for nutrigenomic research -- Public health context for nutrigenomics and personalized nutrition -- Nutrigenomics and public health

Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health: Mechanisms, Consequences, and Opportunities, Second Edition updates and expands upon the content in the first edition and adds focus on actionable and modifiable aspects of nutrition that have an impact on long-term health and disease. Part I examines the associations and the mechanisms of early life nutrition on growth as well as the development of cognitive, metabolic, immune, and dietary patterns and behaviors. Part II reviews the associations and impact of early life nutrition on non-communicable disease as well as their societal and economic impact. Part III focuses on the dietary and nutritional needs and approaches to optimizing the different stages of nutrition, from conception to the second year of life. Nutritionists, pediatricians, academics with research interest in this area, and food industry and healthcare professionals working in infant/child product and services, as well as students studying related disciplines, will benefit from this updated reference.

Cover -- Title Page -- Copyright Page -- Dedication -- Brief Contents -- Contents -- Preface -- Features of This Text -- Acknowledgments -- Contributors -- Reviewers -- CHAPTER 1 Applying Nutrition Science to the Community and Public's Health -- List of Abbreviations -- Introduction -- Community and Public Health Nutrition and Public Health Dietitians/Nutritionists -- Peer-Reviewed Literature and Evidence-Based Practice -- Finding Peer-Reviewed Literature -- Assessing Article Quality -- Nutrition Monitoring -- Nutrition Screening and Assessment -- Population Surveillance
Study Designs and Uses -- Epidemiologic Studies -- Metabolic Diet Studies -- Clinical Trials -- Animal Studies -- Community and Public Health Services -- Healthy People 2030 -- Nutrient Requirements -- The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion -- Summary -- Learning Portfolio -- Key Terms -- Issues for Discussion -- References -- CHAPTER 2 Nutritional Epidemiology: An Introduction -- Introduction -- Overview of Epidemiology -- Overview of Nutritional Epidemiology -- Types of Study Designs Used in Nutritional Epidemiology -- Guidelines for Causality -- Incidence and Prevalence
Measuring Dietary Exposure: Dietary Assessment Methods -- Validity of Dietary Data -- General Considerations in Nutritional Epidemiologic Studies -- The Role of Nutritional Epidemiology in Public Health -- Summary -- Learning Portfolio -- Key Terms -- Issues for Discussion -- Practical Activities -- Resources -- References -- CHAPTER 3 Creating and Influencing Public and Nutrition Policy -- Introduction -- Characteristics of Public Policy -- U.S. Public Health Policy -- Nutrition Policy: A Brief History -- Nutrition Policy: Goals and Methods -- Policy Formulation -- Agenda Setting
Policy Formulation -- Policy Implementation -- Policy Evaluation -- Policy Creation at the Federal Level -- Policy Development at All Levels of Government: Federal, State, and Local -- The Role of the Federal Government in Policy Development -- The Role of Public Agencies in Policy Development -- The Role of State Government in Policy Development -- The Role of Local Government in Policy Development -- Leadership Roles for Nutritionists -- Advocating and Influencing Health and Nutrition Policies -- Influencing Legislation -- Importance of Building an Infrastructure of Support
Advocacy Activities and Skills for Individuals -- The Future of Public Health -- Summary -- Learning Portfolio -- Key Terms -- Issues for Discussion -- Resources -- References -- CHAPTER 4 The Role of the Federal Agencies in Community and Public Health Nutrition -- Introduction -- Overview of Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services -- Food and Nutrition Service -- Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion -- Overview of the Food Safety and Inspection Service -- Overview of Research, Education, and Economics -- Agricultural Research Service -- National Agricultural Library

There is no one-size-fits-all diet. Fad diets all promise miraculous results for your outward appearance—yet people continue to eat poorly, gain weight and depend on medications and operations to maintain their health. It's time for a reality check: there is no one-size-fits-all diet. Learn the secrets of intuitive eating and start building a new relationship with your body. Integrative Nutrition is loaded with valuable insights into nutritional theories, simple ways to nurture your body and holistic approaches to maximize health. Integrative Nutrition offers a play-by-play for proper nutrition and personal growth, and is packed with delicious, easy-to-follow recipes. What Integrative Nutrition can do for you: Learn the truth about food corporations, ­pharmaceutical companies and obesity. Weigh the strengths and weaknesses of many popular diets and cleanses. Discover why your body craves certain foods and why you should listen to those cravings. Explore the connection between food, ­sexuality, spirituality and work. Find out how cooking at home can boost your health. Add more to your diet rather than cut back. Release your dependency on restaurant food, fast food and processed food. Don't be a health food addict: enjoy your favorite foods without guilt.

There is no one-size-fits-all diet. Fad diets all promise miraculous results for your outward appearance—yet people continue to eat poorly, gain weight and depend on medications and operations to maintain their health. Learn the secrets of intuitive eating and start building a new relationship with your body. Integrative Nutrition is loaded with valuable insights into nutritional theories, simple ways to nurture your body and holistic approaches to maximize health. Integrative Nutrition offers a play-by-play for proper nutrition and personal growth, and is packed with delicious, easy-to-follow recipes What Integrative Nutrition can do for you: Learn the truth about food corporations, ­pharmaceutical companies and obesity Weigh the strengths and weaknesses of many popular diets and cleanses Discover why your body craves certain foods and why you should listen to those cravings Explore the connection between food, ­sexuality, spirituality, and work Find out how cooking at home can boost your health Add more to your diet rather than cut back Release your dependency on restaurant food, fast food, and processed food Don't be a health food addict: enjoy your favorite foods without guilt

Nutritional assessment -- Health research methods -- Standards for desirable nutrient intake -- Measuring nutrient intake -- National food and nutrition surveys -- Computerized food and nutrition analysis systems -- Anthropometry -- Biomarkers in nutritional assessment -- Clinical assessment of nutritional status -- Nutritional assessment in health promotion, disease prevention, and treatment -- Health coaching theory and approaches -- International nutrition assessment and research.

Food choices -- Nutrition guidelines and assessment -- Spotlight on dietary supplements and functional foods -- Digestion and absorption -- Carbohydrates -- Lipids -- Proteins and amino acids -- Alcohol -- Metabolism -- Energy balance and weight management -- Spotlight on obesity and weight management -- Fat-soluble vitamins -- Water-soluble vitamins -- Water and major minerals -- Trace minerals -- Sports nutrition -- Spotlight on eating disorders -- Diet and health -- Life cycle : maternal and infant nutrition -- Life cycle : from childhood to adulthood -- Food safety -- World view of nutrition.

Dietary Fiber for the Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease: Fiber's Interaction between Gut Micoflora, Sugar Metabolism, Weight Control and Cardiovascular Health compiles the most up-to-date research discoveries to provide a timely and scientific rationale for the significant impact of a fiber rich diet for the prevention of heart disease. By focusing on the science behind how fiber, both soluble and insoluble can lead to lower rates of heart disease, this important reference will educate researchers, cardiologists, medical providers and students on how to improve patients'hearts via a fiber rich diet. Coverage includes the known mechanisms of how fiber works to reduce insulin resistance, control weight, reduce cholesterol by binding with bile, maintain stable glucose levels and influence gut microflora. Explains how fiber affects cardiovascular disease through the influence on insulin resistance, reduction of cholesterol, change in gut microflora and in weight controlProvides thorough coverage of the effect of fiber on arrhythmias and valvular abnormalitiesIncludes information on the indirect relationship between constipation and heart disease

1. Phytonutrients: structure-function relationship, health benefits, stability, and fate during processing

2. Traditional uses 3. Consumption of rich/enrich phytonutrients food and their relationship with health status of population 4. Disease modifying effects of phytonutrients at gene levels 5. Bioavailability and safety of phytonutrients 6. Potential risks of phytonutrients associated with high-doseor long-term use 7. Nutritional and bioactive characterization of unexploredfood rich in phytonutrients

8. Colored phytonutrients: Role and applications in the functionalfoods of anthocyanins

9. Development of new food products based on phytonutrients

10. Optimization of extraction methodologies and purification technologies to recover phytonutrients from food

11. Analytical methods focused on studying phytonutrients in food.

With nutrition now recognised as a crucial part of the prevention and treatment of many human diseases and conditions, it is now more essential than ever that health studies, nursing and medical students have an understanding of the facts behind human nutrition. Nutrition at a Glance continues the popular series style of providing succinct information in a user-friendly, well illustrated format, with a broad coverage taking in such key topics as: What makes an adequate diet The role of key nutrients in maintaining heath Food allergy and intolerance Obesity, cancer, cardiovascular disease and gastrointestinal disease Nutrition and the brain Food choice and food policies An invaluable resource for students in need of an introduction to the area or a revision tool, this book will also serves as a handy quick reference for busy professionals needing to get to grips with this important subject.

Can an apple a day keep the doctor away? The A-Z Guide to Food As Medicine addresses food folklore by exploring the scientific findings about physiological effects of over 250 foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals. Today, health care providers are fielding more questions from patients on how to help improve their nutritional health, which in turn can help to prevent disease. The guide is a dictionary-style reference intended for use by health care professionals to quickly and easily access information about the bioactive components in the foods and how diet can be manipulated for health benefits.

The latest edition of the bible on healthy eating, incorporating newly revised 2016 USDA Dietary Guidelines, by the world's leading authority on food and nutrition.

"How to eat for maximum brain power and health from an expert in both neuroscience and nutrition. Like our bodies, our brains have very specific food requirements. And in this eye-opening book from an author who is both a neuroscientist and a certified integrative nutritionist, we learn what should be on our menu. Dr. Lisa Mosconi, whose research spans an extraordinary range of specialties including brain science, the microbiome, and nutritional genomics, notes that the dietary needs of the brain are substantially different from those of the other organs, yet few of us have any idea what they might be. Her innovative approach to cognitive health incorporates concepts that most doctors have yet to learn. Busting through advice based on pseudoscience, Dr. Mosconi provides recommendations for a complete food plan, while calling out noteworthy surprises, including why that paleo diet you are following may not be ideal, why avoiding gluten may be a terrible mistake, and how simply getting enough water can dramatically improve alertness. Including comprehensive lists of what to eat and what to avoid, a detailed quiz that will tell you where you are on the brain health spectrum, and 24 mouth-watering brain-boosting recipes that grow out of Dr. Mosconi's own childhood in Italy, Brain Food gives us the ultimate plan for a healthy brain. Brain Food will appeal to anyone looking to improve memory, prevent cognitive decline, eliminate brain fog, lift depression, or just sharpen their edge"-- Provided by publisher.

This is the new and fully revised third edition of the well-received text that is the benchmark book in the field of nutrition and aging. The editors (specialists in geriatric nutrition, medical sociology, and clinical nutrition, respectively) and contributors (a panel of recognized academic nutritionists, geriatricians, clinicians, and other scientists) have added a number of new chapters and have thoroughly updated the widely acclaimed second edition. This third edition provides fresh perspectives and the latest scientific and clinical developments on the interaction of nutrition with age-a.

The Molecular Nutrition of Fats presents the nutritional and molecular aspects of fats by assessing their dietary components, their structural and metabolic effects on the cell, and their role in health and disease. Subject areas include molecular mechanisms, membranes, polymorphisms, SNPs, genomic wide analysis, genotypes, gene expression, genetic modifications and other aspects. The book is divided into three sections, providing information on the general and introductory aspects, the molecular biology of the cell, and the genetic machinery and its function. Topics discussed include lipid-related molecules, dietary lipids and lipid metabolism, high fat diets, choline, cholesterol, membranes, trans-and saturated fatty acids, and lipid rafts. Other sections provide comprehensive discussions on G protein-coupled receptors, micro RNA, transcriptomics, transcriptional factors, cholesterol, triacylglycerols, beta-oxidation, cholesteryl ester transfer, beta-oxidation, lysosomes, lipid droplets, insulin mTOR signaling and ligands, and more. Summarizes molecular nutrition in health as related to fats. Discusses the impact of fats on cancer, heart disease, dementia, and respiratory and intestinal disease. Includes preclinical, clinical and population studies. Covers the genome, the whole body and whole communitiesIncludes key facts, a mini dictionary of terms and summary points.

The book provides a strong foundation in the science of exercise nutrition and bioenergetics and offers valuable insights into how the principles work in the real world of physical activity and sports medicine. Case Studies and Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition activities engage readers in practical nutritional assessment problems. (http://amazon.com)

Skeletal muscle mass indices in healthy adults / Heliodoro Alemán-Mateo and Roxana E. Ruiz Valenzuela -- Reduced skeletal muscle mass and lifestyle / David Scott -- Molecular mechanisms of postmeal regulation of muscle anabolism / Olivier Le Bacquer -- Adaptation of skeletal muscle mass and metabolism to physical exercise / Xavier Bigard -- The role of specific nutriments in sarcopenia associated with chronic diseases: a focus on cancer / Sami Antoun -- Sarcopenic obesity / Andrea P. Rossi, Sofia Rubele and Mauro Zamboni -- Effects of sarcopenic obesity on cardiovascular diseases and all-cause mortality / Janice L. Atkins -- Skeletal muscle in obesity and chronic overfeeding / Christelle Guillet -- Skeletal muscle mitochondrial, obesity, and high-fat feeding / Christelle Guillet -- Muscle immune cells, obesity, and high-fat feeding / Carla Domingues-Faria, Nicolas Goncalves-Mendes and Marie-Chantal Farges -- Physiological regulation of skeletal muscle mass : resistance exercise-mediated muscle hypertrophy / Joaquín Pérez-Schindler and Christoph Handschin -- Training, changes in nutritional requirements and dietary support of physical exercise / Irène Margaritis -- Proteins and amino acids and physical exercise / Stephen D. Patterson, Mark Waldron and Owen Jeffries -- Obesity and respiratory skeletal muscles / Richard Severin, Samantha Bond, Adriana Mazzuco, Audrey Borghi Silva, Ross Arena and Shane A. Phillips -- Physical exercise in chronic diseases / Bente K. Pedersen -- Whey protein and muscle protection / Yves Boirie -- Branched-chain amino acids (leucine, isoleucine, and valine) and skeletal muscle / Stefan H.M. Gorissen and Stuart M. Phillips -- Glutamine and skeletal muscle / Vinicius F. Cruzat -- Arginine and skeletal muscle / Jean-Pascal De Bandt -- Citrulline and skeletal muscle / Charlotte Breuillard, Arthur Goron and Christophe Moinard -- Sulfur amino acids and skeletal muscle / Isabelle Papet, Didier Rémond, Dominique Dardevet, Laurent Mosoni, Sergio Polakof, Marie-Agnès Peyron and Isabelle Savary-Auzeloux -- Regulation of skeletal muscle metabolism by saturated and monounsaturated fatty acids / Cedric Moro and Frederic Capel -- Polyunsaturated omega-3 fatty acids and skeletal muscle / Gordon I. Smith -- Vitamin D signaling and skeletal muscle cells / Carla Domingues-Faria and Stéphane Walrand -- Vitamin D deficiency and myopathy / Christian M. Girgis -- Phytochemicals, their intestinal metaboolites, and skeletal muscle function / Kazumi Yagasaki -- Antioxidants and polyphenols mediate mitochondrial mediated muscle death signaling in sarcopenia / Stephen E. Alway -- Beta-conglycinin and skeletal muscle / Satoshi Wanezaki and Nobuhiko Tachibana -- Effects of quercetin on mitochondriogenesis in skeletal muscle : consequences for physical endurance and glycemic control / Alfredo Fernández-Quintela, Iñaki Milton-Laskibar, Leixuri Aguirre, Saioa Gómez-Zorita, Marcela González and Maria P. Portillo -- Statins and muscle damage / Matthew J. Sorrentino -- Alcoholic myopathy / Emilio González-Reimers, Geraldine Quintero-Platt, Emilio Ganzález-Arnay, Candelaria Martín-González, Lucía Romero-Acevedo and Francisco Santolaria-Fernández.

Cover; Title Page; Copyright Page; Dedication; Brief Contents; Contents; Preface; Acknowledgments; Contributors; Chapter 1 Introduction to Nutrition and Aging; Introduction; Demographics of Aging; Dietary Guidance; Healthy People 2020; Administration on Aging; Older Minority Groups; Hispanic Americans; African Americans; Native Americans; Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders; Caucasian Americans (Non-Hispanic Whites); Health and Well-Being; The Healthcare Workforce; Conclusion; Chapter 2 The Physiology of Aging; Introduction; Theories of Aging; The Role of Cell Replication
The Genetics of LongevityAging and Epigenetics; Calorie Restriction and Life Span; Aging Systems; Gastrointestinal Changes; Oral Health; Olfactory Changes; Esophageal Changes with Age; Gastric Function; Pancreas, Gallbladder, Liver; Small Intestine; Large Intestine; Body Composition Changes; Changes in Body Weight with Age; Cardiovascular and Respiratory System Changes; Cardiovascular Risk Factors in Older Adults; Respiratory Changes; Renal System Changes; Skeletal Health; Osteoporosis; Changes in Other Body Systems; Immune System Changes; Nervous System Changes; Endocrine System Changes
Hematologic Changes: AnemiaConclusion; Chapter 3 Macronutrient, Water, and Alcohol Recommendations in Older Adults; Introduction; Nutrient and Energy Recommendations; Dietary Reference Intakes; Energy Requirements; Dietary Carbohydrates; Carbohydrate Classifications; Carbohydrate Recommendations; Dietary Fiber; Fats; Different Types of Fats; Dietary Fat Recommendations; Essential Fatty Acids; Proteins; Physiologic Aging and Protein Requirements; Dietary Protein; Water Balance and Recommended Intakes; Water Intake; Fluid Output; Dehydration; Water Recommendations; Alcohol
Digestion and AbsorptionHealth Benefits, Recommendations, and Cautions; Conclusion; Chapter 4 Vitamin Requirements of the Older Adult; Introduction; Vitamin A; Vitamin Forms and Precursors; Function; Absorption; Metabolism; Food Sources; Recommendations; Deficiencies; Toxicity; Vitamin D; Forms; Functions; Absorption; Metabolism; Recommendations; Food Sources; Deficiency; Toxicity; Vitamin E; Forms and Other Names; Functions; Absorption; Metabolism; Recommendations; Food Sources; Deficiencies; Toxicity; Vitamin K; Forms; Functions; Absorption; Metabolism; Recommendations; Food Sources
DeficiencyToxicity; Vitamin B12, Vitamin B6, and Folate; Forms; Functions; Absorption; Metabolism; Recommendations and Food Sources; Deficiency; Toxicity; Other B Vitamins; Vitamin C; Conclusion; Chapter 5 Mineral Requirements of the Older Adult; Introduction; The Major Minerals; Calcium; Phosphorus; Magnesium; Sodium; Potassium; The Trace Minerals; Iron; Zinc; Iodine; Conclusion; Chapter 6 Health Promotion and Disease Prevention in the Older Adult; Nutrition Services for Older Adults; Nutritional Concerns of Older Adults; Nutrition as Part of the Healthcare Continuum

Incorporating nutrition into primary care practice -- Personalization of nutrition advice -- Nutrition and immune system -- Nutrition and gastrointestinal disorders -- Approach to the overweight and obese patient -- Evolution of type 2 diabetes mellitus -- Managing diabetes without weight gain -- Fatty liver -- Lipid disorders and management -- Nutrition and coronary artery disease -- Hypertension and obesity -- Nutrition and renal failure -- Nutrition and heart failure -- Pulmonary function, asthma, and obesity -- Frailty nutrition and elderly -- Nutrition and neurodenerative disorders -- Gene-nutrient interactions -- Nutrition and risks of common forms of cancer -- Nutrition and the cancer patient -- Writing a personal nutrition prescription.

"Millions of people visit Whole30.com every month and share their stories of weight loss and lifestyle makeovers. Hundreds of thousands of them have read It Starts With Food, which explains the science behind the program. At last, The Whole30 provides the step-by-step, recipe-by-recipe guidebook that will allow millions of people to experience the transformation of their entire life in just one month. Melissa and Dallas Hartwig's critically-acclaimed Whole30 program has helped hundreds of thousands of people transform how they think about their food, bodies, and lives. Their approach leads to effortless weight loss and better health--along with stunning improvements in sleep quality, energy levels, mood, and self-esteem. Their first book, the New York Times best-selling It Starts With Food, explained the science behind their life-changing program. Now they bring you The Whole30, a stand-alone, step-by-step plan to break unhealthy habits, reduce cravings, improve digestion, and strengthen your immune system. The Whole30 features more than 100 chef-developed recipes, like Chimichurri Beef Kabobs and Halibut with Citrus Ginger Glaze, designed to build your confidence in the kitchen and inspire your taste buds. The book also includes real-life success stories, community resources, and an extensive FAQ to give you the support you need on your journey to "food freedom.""-- Provided by publisher.

The Gut-Brain Axis: Dietary, Probiotic, and Prebiotic Interventions on the Microbiota examines the potential for microbial manipulation as a therapeutic avenue in central nervous system disorders in which an altered microbiota has been implicated, and explores the mechanisms, sometimes common, by which the microbiota may contribute to such disorders.

Caffeine for Sports Performance is the definitive resource for all your questions regarding caffeine and its impact on sports performance. Based on the most recent research, studies, and guidelines, this guide is ideal for athletes and fitness enthusiasts looking to improve training and competition. (www.amazon.com)

Endurance Sports Nutrition will guide you in selecting the optimal foods, drinks, and supplements so you can train longer, recover more quickly, avoid injuries, and achieve your performance goals in any endurance endeavor. (www.amazon.com)

Sports nutrition has evolved beyond what to eat and how much to eat to now include the question of when to eat. A hot topic in sports nutrition, nutrient timing is a dietary concept that takes into account time as a missing dimension in athletic performance and recovery. Not only is the consumption of nutrients in ideal amounts and proportions important, but the timing with which they are administered is also of prime importance—the right nutrients at the ideal time to affect performance and muscular growth. Nutrient Timing: Metabolic Optimization for Health, Performance, and Recovery presents the most authoritative text to date that scientifically examines the contemporary topic of nutrient timing. (www.amazon.com)

Renowned sport nutritionists Heidi Skolnik and Andrea Chernus have worked alongside today’s top athletes, including professional football players and elite marathoners. In Nutrient Timing for Peak Performance, they’ve combined the latest dietetic research with practical advice you can use to create a personalized action plan based on the needs of your body, your sport, and your goals.

Nutrition and Enhanced Sports Performance: Muscle Building, Endurance, and Strength provides a comprehensive overview to understanding the integrated impact of nutrition on performance. This book is an ideal resource for nutritionists, dietitians, exercise physiologists, health practitioners, researchers, students, athletes, trainers, and all those who wish to broaden their knowledge of nutrition and its role in human performance. (www.amazon.com)

Nutrition and Enhanced Sports Performance: Muscle Building, Endurance and Strength, Second Edition, includes comprehensive sections on the role of nutrition in human health, various types of physical exercises, including cardiovascular training, resistance training, aerobic and anaerobic exercises, bioenergetics and energy balance, and the nutritional requirements associated with each. Other sections cover sports and nutritional requirements, the molecular mechanisms involved in muscle building, an exhaustive review of various foods, minerals, supplements, phytochemicals, amino acids, transition metals, competition training, healthy cooking, physical training, and lifestyle and dietary recommendations for sports performance. This updated edition includes new chapters on mood, alertness, calmness and psychomotor performance in sports, extreme sports, natural myostatin inhibitor and lean body mass, the benefits of caffeine in sport nutrition formulations, the role of vitamin D in athletic performance, probiotics and muscle mass.Provides a comprehensive appraisal of the nutritional benefits of exercise in human healthCompiles chapters reviewing the nutritional prophylaxis in human healthAddresses performance enhancement drugs and sports supplementsPresents various types of physical exercises and addresses exercise and nutritional requirements in special populationsDiscusses sports nutrition and the molecular mechanisms involved in muscle buildingContains an exhaustive review of various food, minerals, supplements, phytochemicals, amino acids, transition metals, small molecules and other ergogenic agentsHighlights the aspects of healthy cooking, physical training, lifestyle and dietary recommendations for sports performance

Growing sentiments against using micronutrient supplements for improving health and preventing disease have created uncertainty in the minds of many health professionals. Following its predecessor, this new edition supports the use of multiple micronutrients combined with proper diet to prove successful in the prevention and management of chronic diseases. It provides basic information on micronutrients, oxidative stress, inflammation, and the immune system. The book goes further to explore use of multiple micronutrients in prevention and treatment of diseases including arthritis, cancer, diabetes, heart diseases, traumatic brain injury, PTSD, prion diseases, and autism spectrum disorder. Key Features Proposes sevidence-based micronutrient supplementation strategies for healthy aging and disease management and prevention. Contains three new chapters on Huntington's Disease, prion diseases, and autism spectrum disorder. All chapters include new studies on etiology, incidence, and mechanisms of several diseases. Discusses role of microRNAs in the initiation and progression for each disease.

The ultimate guide to meatless meals, completely updated and better than ever, now for the first time featuring color photos Ten years ago, this breakthrough cookbook made vegetarian cooking accessible to everyone. Today, the issues surrounding a plant-based diet—health, sustainability, and ethics—continue to resonate with more and more Americans, whether or not they're fully vegetarian. This new edition has been completely reviewed and revised to stay relevant to today's cooks: New recipes include more vegan options and a brand-new chapter on smoothies, teas, and more. Charts, variations, and other key information have been updated. And, new for this edition, the recipes are showcased in bright full-color photos throughout. With these photos and a host of recipes destined to become new favorites, this already classic vegetarian cookbook will continue to be more indispensable than ever.

"Vegetarian and Plant-Based Diets in Health and Disease Prevention examines the science of vegetarian and plant-based diets and their nutritional impact on human health. This book assembles the science related to vegetarian and plant-based diets in a comprehensive, balanced, single reference that discusses both the overall benefits of plant-based diets on health and the risk of disease and issues concerning the status in certain nutrients of the individuals, while providing overall consideration to the entire spectrum of vegetarian diets. Broken into five sections, the first provides a general overview of vegetarian / plant-based diets so that readers have a foundational understanding of the topic. Dietary choices and their relation with nutritional transition and sustainability issues are discussed. The second and third sections provide a comprehensive description of the relationship between plant-based diets and health and disease prevention. The fourth section provides a deeper look into how the relationship between plant-based diets and health and disease prevention may differ in populations with different age or physiological status. The fifth and final section of the book details the nutrients and substances whose intakes are related to the proportions of plant or animal products in the diet. Discusses the links between health and certain important characteristics of plant-based diets at the level of food groups Analyzes the relation between plant-based diet and health at the different nutritional levels, i.e. from dietary patterns to specific nutrients and substances Provides a balanced evidence-based approach to analyze the positive and negative aspects of vegetarianism Addresses the different aspects of diets predominantly based on plants, including geographical and cultural variations of vegetarianism"--Publisher's description.

Antioxidants in Food, Vitamins and Supplements bridges the gap between books aimed at consumers and technical volumes written for investigators in antioxidant research. It explores the role of oxidative stress in the pathophysiology of various diseases as well as antioxidant foods, vitamins, and all antioxidant supplements, including herbal supplements. It offers healthcare professionals a rich resource of key clinical information and basic scientific explanations relevant to the development and prevention of specific diseases.

"The Vitamins: Fundamental Aspects in Nutrition and Health, Fifth Edition, provides the latest coverage of the biochemistry and physiology of vitamins and vitamin-like substances. Health-related themes present insights into the use of vitamins, not only for general nutritional balance, but also as a factor in the prevention and/or treatment of specific health issues, such as overall immunity, inflammatory diseases, obesity, and anemia. Readers will gain an understanding of the roles vitamins play in gene expression and epigenetics, providing important information on the further development of personalized medical treatments that will also allow them to establish appropriate dietary programs based on individual genetic profiles. This cohesive, well-organized presentation of each vitamin includes key words, case studies, and coverage of the metabolic functions of appropriate vitamins. The readability of this complex content is highly regarded by students, instructors, researchers, and professionals alike."--Provided by publisher.