eBooks: Reference Materials

Principally based on dissections of hundreds of un-embalmed human cadavers over the past decade, Functional Atlas of the Human Fascial System presents a new vision of the human fascial system using anatomical and histological photographs along with microscopic analysis and biomechanical evaluation. Prof. Carla Stecco - orthopaedic surgeon and professor of anatomy and sport activities - brings together the research of a multi-specialist team of researchers and clinicians consisting of anatomists, biomechanical engineers, physiotherapists, osteopaths and plastic surgeons. In this Atlas Prof.

"A user-friendly guide for students of anatomy and anyone interested in the workings of the human body. This concise, pocket-sized reference guide is a handy, comprehensive reference for students and practitioners of anatomy, massage, physical therapy, chiropractics, medicine, and physiotherapy--or for anyone who would like a quick and well-organized manual of human anatomy. The first seven chapters explain anatomical orientation, tissues, bone, the axial and appendicular skeletons, joints, and skeletal muscle and fascia. In the book's final chapters, the muscle groups of the body's four major regions are amply illustrated, with composite drawings detailing each region's deep and superficial muscles in both anterior and posterior views. Color tables show each muscle's origin, insertion, innervation, and action. Written in clear, accessible prose, the book offers a wealth of knowledge to the lay reader, the aficionado, or the practitioner"--Provided by publisher.

Atlas of Human Body: Central Nervous System and Vascularization is a multidisciplinary approach to the technical coverage of anatomical structures and relationships. It contains surface and 3D dissection images, native and colored cross sectional views made in different planes, MRI comparisons, demonstrations of cranial nerve origins, distribution of blood vessels by dissection, and systematic presentation of arterial distribution from the precapillary level, using the methyl metacrylate injection and subsequent tissue digestion method. Included throughout are late prenatal (fetal) and early postnatal images to contribute to a better understanding of structure/relationship specificity of differentiation at various developmental intervals (conduits, organs, somatic, or branchial derivatives). Each chapter features clinical correlations providing a unique perspective of side-by side comparisons of dissection images, magnetic resonance imaging and computed tomography. Created after many years of professional and scientific cooperation between the authors and their parent institutions, this important resource will serve researchers, students, and doctors in their professional work. Contains over 700 color photos of ideal anatomical preparations and sections of each part of the body that have been prepared, recorded, and processed by the authors. Covers existing gaps including developmental and prenatal periods, detailed vascular anatomy, and neuro anatomy. Features a comprehensive alphabetical index of structures for ease of useFeatures a companion website which contains access to all images within the book.

"Written by an experienced and well-respected physician and professor, this new volume, building on the previous volume, Ultrasonic Topographical and Pathotopographical Anatomy, also available from Wiley-Scrivener, presents the ultrasonic topographical and pathotopographical anatomy of the head and neck, offering further detail into these important areas for use by medical professionals"--Provided by publisher.

Obtain optimal diagnostic results from the field's foremost pain expert! Noted authority Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD, offers complete, concise, and highly visual guidance on the diagnosis of more than 100 uncommon pain syndromes less frequently encountered in daily practice. Vivid illustrations depict the physical symptoms and anatomy of each pain site as well as key imaging findings involving techniques such as MRI, CT, and conventional radiograph. It's the effective, easy-access resource you need to evaluate uncommon pain syndromes and sharpen your diagnostic skills. Uses a consistent format to explore each pain syndrome, progressing through diagnostic codes . signs and Accurately diagnose and treat uncommon pain syndromes by following a step-by-step approach that progresses from signs and symptoms through physical findings, laboratory and radiographic testing, treatment options, and clinical pearls. Recognize the visual manifestations of pain with help from nearly 400 vivid illustrations-more than 100 new to this edition, many in color-depicting the physical symptoms and anatomy of each pain site, and diagnostic images demonstrating key findings from MRI, CT, and conventional radiography. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout including new chapters on SUNCT Headache, Primary Thunderclap Headache, Hypnic Headache, Nummular Headache, Atypical Odontalgia, Burning Mouth Syndrome, Nervus Intermedius Neuralgia, Red Ear Syndrome, Clival Chordoma Syndrome, Glomus Tumor of the Shoulder, Osteonecrosis of the Elbow Joint, Driver's Elbow, Boxer's Knuckle, Trigger Wrist, Superior Cluneal Nerve Entrapment Syndrome, Clitoral Priapism, Breaststroker's Knee, Glomus Tumor of the Knee, and Fabella Syndrome. Quickly and easily find the information you need thanks to highly templated chapters. Confidently overcome the clinical challenges you're likely to face with well-rounded guidance from this companion volume to Dr. Waldman's Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 3rd Edition. Access the complete text and illustrations online at expertconsult.com, fully searchable.

This uniquely accessible volume challenges professionals to understand—and help correct—health disparities, both at the patient level and in their larger social contexts. Dedicated to eradicating this ongoing injustice, contributors focus on marginalized populations, the role of healthcare systems in perpetuating inequities, the need for deeper engagement and listening by professionals, and the need for advocacy within professional education and the political/policy arena. The compelling case narratives at the core of the book illustrate the interrelated biopsychosocial components of patients' health problems and the gradations of learning needed for practitioners to address them effectively. The book's tools for developing a health disparities curriculum include a selection of workshop exercises, facilitator resources, and a brief guide to writing effective case narratives. A sampling of the narratives: "Finding the Person in Patient-Centered Health Care" (race/ethnicity/culture). "The Annual Big Girl / Big Boy Exchange" (gender). "Just Give Me Narcan and Let Me Go" (poverty/addiction). "Everyone Called Him Crazy" (immigration). "Adrift in the System" (disability). "Aging out of Pediatrics" (mental illness and stigma). "Time to Leave" (LGBT) A work of profound compassion, Health Disparities will be of considerable interest to researchers and practitioners interested in public health, population health, health disparities, and related fields such as sociology, social work, and narrative medicine. Its wealth of educational features also makes it a quality training text. "I was impressed when I read Health Disparities: Weaving a New Understanding through Case Narratives . As a patient who has experienced unpleasant situations in health care, I was moved to see that it was emotional and personal for the writers. The book confirms for me that the time is now for change to take place in our health care systems. I see this book as a light that can shine bright in the darkest places of health care. The editors have assembled a powerful book that provides all health professionals with specific steps they can take towards addressing and then eventually eliminating health disparities. A few steps that I really connected with were improving critical awareness, delivering quality care, listening and empathizing with patients and families, and advocating for changes. I recommend that anyone interested in working to improve health care obtain a copy of this book—it's filled with useful information that every medical professional should know. The book reminds me of a quote by Wayne Dyer, 'When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'" -Delores Collins, Founder and Executive Director, A Vision of Change Incorporated, Certified Community Health Worker. Founder of The Greater Cleveland Community Health Workers Association.

Cases in Differential Diagnosis for the Physical and Manipulative Therapies features more than 225 clinical presentations in differential diagnosis. All cases are presented in four life stages - infancy and childhood, adolescence, the adult years and the later or elderly years - and each life stage covers a broad range of differential clinical topics.
With this physical and manipulative therapy text, students will gain valuable insight into scenarios commonly encountered in clinical practice, while developing and refining their diagnostic skills. [www.amazon.com]

The third edition of the Encyclopedia of Toxicology presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues. Wit.

The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences, Second Edition develops from the first edition, covering all areas of neurological sciences through over 1000 entries focused on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. The contributing authors represent all aspects of neurology from many viewpoints and disciplines to provide a complete overview of the field. Entries are designed to be understandable without detailed background knowledge in the subject matter, and cross-referencing and suggested further reading lead the reader from a basic knowledge of the subject to more advanced understanding. The easy-to-use 'encyclopedic-dictionary' format of the Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences, Second Edition features alphabetic entries, extensive cross-referencing, and a thorough index for quick reference. The wealth of information provided by these four volumes makes this reference work a trusted source of valuable information for a wide range of researchers, from undergraduate students to academic researchers.

The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry, with content experts carefully chosen by the Editorial Board to assure both breadth and depth in its coverage. Editors-In-Chief William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane have crafted a work that proceeds from the acknowledgement that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics-is impossible without a gras.

Get instant, easy access to the natural medicine expertise you need with The Clinician's Handbook of Natural Medicine, 3rd Edition. Written by leading authorities in complementary and integrative medicine, this portable handbook offers clear and rational directives on diagnosing and treating 80 diseases and disorders with natural medicine. Inside the pages you'll find concise summaries of diagnostic procedures, general considerations, therapeutic considerations, and therapeutic approaches for each condition, as well as naturopathic treatment methods like dietary changes, physical therapy advice, exercise modifications, and recommended supplements and botanical medicines. Based on Pizzorno's trusted Textbook of Natural Medicine, 4th Edition and the most current evidence available, it's your key to accessing reliable, natural diagnosis and treatment options in any setting.

Integrated Sports Massage Therapy is a highly illustrated evidence-based handbook which presents a wide range of effective sports massage techniques to cover any sports-related situation. Anders Jelveus explains and applies effective techniques from a variety of disciplines of manual therapy, ranging from commonly used sports massage strokes to more advanced concepts for real-life effective sports massage treatments. The presented techniques serve as a great addition for any therapist seeking to work with athletes, and are suitable for pre-event, post-event, inter-event, and in remedial sports massage therapy. This unique book offers a comprehensive presentation of sports massage therapy including: Sports massage history Basic sports massage strokes and work postures Sports massage applications Event-based sports massage treatment guidelines Sports-specific massage treatment recommendations Therapeutic muscle stretching techniques Therapeutic muscle stretching applied to specific muscle groups Positional Release Techniques (PRT) Acupressure and Tui Na techniques with applications Myofascial release techniques Connective tissue massage Lymphatic drainage massage Myofascial Trigger Point etiology and treatment techniques Sports injuries Athletic taping Remedial Sports massage applications Athletic self massage techniques. The book is suitable for all manual therapy students and practitioners, whether novice or advanced, including massage therapists, physical therapists, osteopaths, chiropractors, naprapaths, naturopaths and acupuncturists.