eBooks: Biology

Overview: genomic and precision medicine for infectious and inflammatory disease -- The human genome as a foundation for genomic and precision health -- Data analytics for precision medicine -- Clinical metagenomics for infection diagnosis -- Host-pathogen interactions -- Sepsis genomics and precision medicine -- Sepsis: metabolomics and proteomics -- Aspiring to precision medicine for infectious diseases in resource limited settings -- Respiratory viral infections -- Emerging viral infections -- Viral hepatitis -- Vaccine development -- HIV pharmacogenetics and pharmacogenomics: from bench to bedside -- Genomics and precision medicine for malaria: a dream come true? -- The role of disease surveillance in precision public health -- Multiple sclerosis -- Systemic sclerosis -- Leveraging genomics to uncover the genetic, environmental and age-related factors leading to asthma -- Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease -- Precision medicine in solid organ transplantation -- Molecular prognosis in liver cirrhosis -- Biomarkers and osteoarthritis -- The microbiota and infectious diseases.

Encyclopedia of Cell Biology, Second Edition, a Four Volume Set, has established itself as a fundamental reference work, providing broad coverage of the field in four main sections (Molecular, Organizational, Functional and Translational and Pathological Aspects of Cell Biology). This second edition revisits and expands each section, with entries on topics not covered in the first edition, including Crispr. The whole work is updated, providing greater coverage of specialized cell function and translational applications and putting greater emphasis on these topics in graduate/medical teaching. New overview chapters and subsections provide a simplified cell biology text that can be used by instructors. The new version includes a standard template for each chapter, making the content easier to navigate, as well as inserts and graphics which provide summaries of key points in each chapter.

Sertoli Cell Biology, Second Edition summarizes the progress since the last edition and emphasizes the new information available on Sertoli/germ cell interactions. This information is especially timely since the progress in the past few years has been exceptional and it relates to control of sperm production in vivo and in vitro.

• Fully revised
• Written by experts in the field
• Summarizes 10 years of research
• Contains clear explanations and summaries
• Provides a summary of references over the last 10 years

"Case Studies in Cell Biology presents real world scenarios to help readers use science process and reasoning skills. The case studies require application and analyzation of concepts beyond rote memory of biological concepts. The book is based on the student learning outcomes from the American Society for Cell Biology, offering practical application for both the classroom and research laboratory. Guides the reader in applying knowledge directly to real world scenarios Includes case studies to bridge foundational cell biological concepts to translational science Aids students in synthesizing information and applying science processes."

Front Cover; Fundamentals of Molecular Structural Biology; Copyright; Dedication; Contents; About the Author; Preface; Acknowledgments; Chapter 1: Introduction-A historical perspective; 1.1. Biology begins as natural history; 1.2. Nature of matter; 1.3. Microscope reveals internal structure of living organisms; 1.4. Cell theory; 1.5. Theory of natural selection and laws of heredity; 1.6. Gene and genetics; 1.7. Nature of ̀̀physical objectś́ in the cell; 1.8. DNA as the genetic material; 1.9. Biology turns molecular-natural science becomes unified; 1.10. Deeper into the structure of matter
1.11. Molecular biology endowed with structures1.12. Structural complex(ity) disentangled; 1.13. Molecular structural biology confronts human disease; 1.14. From gene to genome; 1.15. In lieu of a conclusion; References and Further Reading; Chapter 2: Mathematical tools; 2.1. Measurements: Standards and units; 2.2. Algebraic functions; 2.3. Trigonometric functions; 2.4. Exponential and logarithm; 2.5. Complex numbers; 2.6. Vector; 2.7. Matrix; 2.8. Calculus; 2.8.1. Differentiation; 2.8.2. Integration; 2.8.3. Multivariate function; 2.8.4. Applications; 2.8.5. Vector operators
2.9. Series and transformSample questions; References and further reading; Chapter 3: Physical basis of chemistry; 3.1. Classical mechanics; 3.1.1. Matter and motion; 3.1.2. Fundamental forces of nature; 3.1.3. Newtons laws; 3.1.4. Circular motion and angular momentum; 3.1.5. Work and energy; 3.1.6. Oscillatory systems; 3.2. Wave motion; 3.2.1. Mechanical waves; 3.2.2. Electromagnetic wave; 3.2.3. Interference of light waves; 3.3. Kinetic theory of gases; 3.4. Thermodynamics; 3.5. Quantum physics; 3.5.1. Light as photons; 3.5.2. Matter as waves; 3.5.3. Schrdinger equation
3.5.4. Barrier tunneling by free electron3.5.5. Bound electron-Hydrogen atom; 3.6. Some elements of statistics; 3.6.1. Microscopic versus macroscopic; 3.6.2. Normal distribution; 3.6.3. Boltzmann distribution; Sample questions; References and further reading; Chapter 4: Chemical basis of biology; 4.1. From atoms to molecules; 4.1.1. Electron configuration of atoms; 4.1.2. Atomic interactions-Chemical bonds; 4.1.3. Electron sharing principles-Electronegativity; 4.1.4. Polarity of bond-Molecular dipole; 4.2. Bonding theories; 4.2.1. Valence bond theory; 4.2.2. Molecular orbital theory
4.3. Noncovalent interactions4.3.1. Ion-ion interactions; 4.3.2. Ion-dipole interactions; 4.3.3. Ion-induced dipole interactions; 4.3.4. Van der Waals interactions-Leonard-Jones potential; Dipole-dipole; Dipole-induced dipole; Induced dipole-induced dipole-London forces; Leonard-Jones potential; 4.3.5. Hydrogen bond and water structure; 4.4. Chemical thermodynamics-Free energy; Entropy and hydrophobicity; 4.5. Chemical kinetics; 4.5.1. Rate law-Arrhenius equation; 4.5.2. Collison theory; 4.5.3. Transition state theory; 4.5.4. Quantum tunneling; 4.5.5. Nucleophilic-electrophilic-SN2 reaction

Brain related disorders are among the most challenging health issues of our time. The development of effective therapeutic and preventive strategies for these disorders relies on a comprehensive understanding of the underlying causative mechanisms. And, until recently, these mechanisms have remained somewhat elusive. The newly discovered pivotal role of the intestinal microbiome in brain health, functionality, and resistance to disease is revolutionizing neuroscience. The Microbiome and the Brain, through the contributions of some of the most forward thinking researchers and clinicians in the field, comprehensively reveals the leading edge of our understanding of the fundamental role of gut microbes and their metabolites in a wide array of seemingly diverse brain issues including Alzheimer's disease, autism, multiple sclerosis, and mood disorders. In addition, mechanisms defining these relationships are explored along with a presentation of the state-of-the-art as it relates to interpretation of relevant laboratory assessments. Finally, novel therapeutic opportunities, derived from this exciting science are presented. Readers will learn: The highly validated relationship between alterations of gut microbes and their metabolites, and risk for Alzheimer's disease. The important link between autism and intestinal dysbiosis. Appropriate interpretation of available laboratory assessments of the intestinal microbiome. The potential role of fecal microbial transplant in neurological diseases. The influence of diet and other lifestyle choices on the microbiome as it relates to brain health and functionality.

The Microbiology of Respiratory System Infections reviews modern approaches in the diagnosis, treatment, and prophylaxis of respiratory system infections. The book is very useful for researchers, scientists, academics, medical practitioners, graduate and postgraduate students, and specialists from pharmaceutical and laboratory diagnostic companies. The book has been divided into three sections according to the types of respiratory pathogens. The first section contains reviews on the most common and epidemiologically important respiratory viruses, such as influenza virus, severe acute respiratory system coronavirus, and recently discovered Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus. The second section is devoted to bacterial and fungal pathogens, which discusses etiology and pathogenesis including infections in patients with compromised immune system, and infections caused by fungal pathogens, such as Aspergillus and Pneumocystis. The third section incorporates treatment approaches against different types of bacterial infections of the lower respiratory tract. This section reviews classical antimicrobial and phytomedical approaches as well as the application of nanotechnology against respiratory pathogens.

Concisely discussing the practical uses of high throughput analysis to move our understanding of biological principles, this work provides a solid base for the design of metagenomic studies, with the objective of aiding successful phylometagenomic, whole shotgun metagenomic, and transcriptomic studies across the multiplying audiences within molecular biology, microbiology, genomic expression, infectious disease, and cancer research.

Diet, Microbiome and Health, Volume 11, in the Handbook of Food Bioengineering series, presents the most up-to-date research to help scientists, researchers and students in the field of food engineering understand the different microbial species we have in our guts, why they are important to human development, immunity and health, and how to use that understanding to further promote research to create healthy food products. In addition, the book provides studies that clearly demonstrate how dietary preferences and social behavior significantly impact the diversity of microbial species in the gut and their numeric values, which may balance health and disease.

Gut Microbiota: Interactive Effects on Nutrition and Health provides a detailed account of gut microbiota research, an exploration of how diet influences gut microbiota and the implications of gut microbiota for health. The book provides a summary of how diet interacts with the gut microbiome and presents practical applications focused on food, supplements and safety. This book provides scientists and clinicians who have an interest in the microbiome with an understanding of the future potential--and limitations--of this tool, as they strive to make use of evidence-based diet information for the maintenance of good health.

Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology's art program enhances students' understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.

Microbes can now be found in nearly every niche the human body offers. However, the complexity of the microbiota of a given site depends on the particular environmental condition thereof. Only microbes which are able to grow under these conditions, will prevail. Recent publications imply that the microorganisms do not only have multiple, critical consequences for host physiological processes such as postnatal development, immunomodulation and energy supply, but also effects on neurodevelopment, behavior and cognition. Within this book we will focus on the techniques behind these developments, epigenomics and on the various parts of the human body which are inhabited by microorganism such as the mouth, the gut, the skin and the vagina. In addition, chapters are dedicated to the possible manipulations of the microbiota by probiotics, prebiotics and faecal transplantation.

The question of ""what is thought"" has intrigued society for ages, yet it is still a puzzle how the human brain can produce a myriad of thoughts and can store seemingly endless memories. All we know is that sensations received from the outside world imprint some sort of molecular signatures in neurons - or perhaps synapses - for future retrieval. What are these molecular signatures, and how are they made? How are thoughts generated and stored in neurons? The Biology of Thought explores these issues and proposes a new molecular model that sheds light on the basis of human thought. Step-by-ste.