Skip to main content

Tutorials: Cochrane Collection Plus

How to use specific library resources such as databases, information literacy modules, eBooks, and archival materials.

Cochrane

Cochrane Collection Plus

Cochrane Collection Plus from EBSCOHost is the most comprehensive collection of databases from the Cochrane Library.  Each database with a description from EBSCO and sample are found below. 

Need help searching EBSCOHost - Tutorial

Cochrane Database Descriptions

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. 
Sample Review Manipulation or Mobilisation for Neck Pain
Tutorial for Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

NHS Economic Evaluation Database assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Economic evaluations - the cost-benefit analysis of two or more different medical treatments - from around the world are systematically identified, described and appraised for quality while their relative strengths and weaknesses are explored and highlighted.
Sample Evaluation - Cost-effectiveness of medical and chiropractic care for acute and chronic low back pain

Health Technology Assessments database provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. In addition to systematic reviews, HTA contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations.
Sample Assessment Whiplash injury - diagnosis and evaluation (structured abstract)


Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. DARE's abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews methodology, results and conclusions. It provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.
Sample Abstract of Review A systematic review with procedural assessments and meta analysis of low level laser therapy in lateral elbow tendinopathy (structured abstract)

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. It includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases.
Sample Register - Chiropractic manipulative therapy and low-level laser therapy in the management of cervical facet dysfunction: a randomized controlled study


Cochrane Methodology Register is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews.
Sample Study Record - Patient-based outcome assessment instruments in acupuncture research

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

library@logan.edu
636-230-1788
Text a Librarian: 636-200-5426