Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LOGAN UNIVERSITY Library Research Guides
From Inquiry to Academic Writing: a Text and Reader by
Call Number: LB 2369 G74 2021 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-09-23
Starting with inquiry -- From reading as a writer to writing as a reader -- From writing summaries and paraphrases to writing yourself into academic conversations -- From identifying claims to analyzing arguments -- From identifying issues to forming questions -- From formulating to developing a thesis -- From finding to evaluating sources -- From synthesis to researched argument -- From ethos to logos: appealing to your readers -- From image to text -- From introductions to conclusions: drafting an essay -- From revising to editing: working with peer groups -- Other methods of inquiry: interviews and focus groups.
Tableau for Healthcare by
Call Number: QA 76.9.I52 B464 2021 4th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-04-23
Introduction to tableau -- Tableau desktop interface and navigation -- Connecting to data -- Text table -- Bar charts -- Formatting -- Line charts -- Highlight table/heat map -- Small multiples chart -- Deviation charts -- Area charts -- Scatter plots & strip plots -- Tooltips -- Box-and-whisker plot -- Maps -- Bullet graph -- Table calculations -- Pareto charts -- Forecasting -- Dashboards -- Stories -- Calculated fields -- Aggregation and level of detail expressions -- Set actions -- Parameters -- Data blending & cross-data source filtering -- Tips and tricks -- Accessibility & distribution -- Gallery of healthDataViz dashboards.
Orthopedic Taping, Wrapping, Bracing, and Padding by
Call Number: QT 261 B366 2021 4th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-01-05
"The overall goal of Orthopedic Taping, Wrapping, Bracing, & Padding is to facilitate learning of the knowledge, skills, and clinical abilities required to effectively tape, wrap, brace, and pad patients. The book is intended for professional athletic training students, practicing athletic trainers, and other health care professionals responsible for technique application. Among students, the text is designed to first be used in the didactic setting, then taken to the clinical setting for practice and skill development"-- Provided by publisher.
Visualizing Health and Healthcare Data by
Call Number: W 26.5 R881 2021
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
"Data Visualization for Health and Healthcare Professionals is a one-of-a-kind book addressing the best practices of data visualization for on-the-go healthcare professionals and their staffs. It provides: A high-level summary discussion of health and healthcare data. A high-level overview of the research about visual intelligence and how humans see and understand data and information visually. "Don't Do This, Do This" scenarios. Clear and detailed explanations of the best practices of table and graph design, including examples of the most common mistakes and clear explanations about why they don't work, followed by examples of what does and why content is designed so learners quickly and more fully grasp the concepts and embrace and apply the best practices to their work. Content addresses strategies and techniques for building useful and beautiful dashboard, including real-life examples of reports and dashboards, which deliver true guided analytics for the end user"-- Provided by publisher.
Medical Statistics by
Call Number: WA 950 C189m 2021 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
"The fifth edition of this popular textbook provides students and practitioners with a clear, concise introduction to the statistics they will come across in their regular reading of clinical papers. Written by three experts with wide teaching and consulting experience, Medical Statistics: A Textbook for the Health Sciences, 5th Edition: Assumes no prior knowledge of statistics. Covers all essential statistical methods. Completely revised, updated and expanded. Includes numerous examples and exercises on the interpretation of the statistics in papers published in medical journals. Includes a companion website with downloadable data, new separate chapters on topics such as logistic regression; diagnostic tests; assessing the quality of statistics/reading the statistics in a scientific paper and other statistical methods (such as meta-analysis; the bootstrap; imputation of missing data and summary measures for analysing longitudinal data) and additional sections on designs such as pilot/feasibility studies; cluster and stepped wedge randomised controlled trials"-- Provided by publisher.
Sinnott's Textbook of Chiropractic Philosophy by
Call Number: WB 905.6 S56s 2009 1st ed.
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Sinnott's Textbook of Chiropractic Philosophy offers the Chiropractic profession a clear and concise view of what sets Chiropractic apart as a separate and distinct profession. Not since R.W. Stephenson wrote his famous text in 1927, has the profession had a texbook designed for both classroom use and personal study that digs deeply into the details of the philosophy of Chiropractic. After a twenty year search for answers to his own questions of Chiropractic philosophy, Dr. Sinnott offers much of that knowledge in an easily understandable way through his pleasant writing style and use of practical examples.
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by
Call Number: WE 18.2 F296 2021 6th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-12-09
Introduction to head and neck anatomy -- Surface anatomy -- Skeletal system -- Muscular system -- Temporomandibular joint -- Vascular system -- Glandular tissue -- Nervous system -- Anatomy of local anesthesia -- Lymphatic system -- Fasciae and spaces -- Spread of infection.
Acsm Guideline Exercise Test Pres 11 by
Call Number: WE 103 A514 2022 11th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-04-16
"ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription is a unique book within the exercise science market. The book presents a series of guidelines for assessing fitness (testing) and prescribing exercise prescriptions). These guidelines are based on the latest primary research and change slightly - and changes are all evidence-based - with each new edition. The book is published with the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) and is written by a team of experts in the field"-- Provided by publisher.
Basic Biomech Musculoskeletal Sys 5 by
Call Number: WE 103 B311 2022 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-03-18
"It is with great pleasure that we present the Fifth Edition of Basic Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System (BBMS). BBMS is now translated to eight languages, from English to Cantonese, Dutch, Greek, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, and Taiwanese"-- Provided by publisher.
Biomechanical Basis of Human Movement by
Call Number: WE 103 H217b 2022 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-02-11
Basic terminology -- Skeletal considerations for movement -- Muscular considerations for movement -- Neurological considerations for movement -- Functional anatomy of the upper extremity -- Functional anatomy of the lower extremity -- Functional anatomy of the trunk -- Clinical considerations: tissue deterioration or injury -- Linear kinematics -- Angular kinematics -- Linear kinetics -- Angular kinetics -- Types of mechanical analyses -- Appendix A: The metric system and SI units -- Appendix B: Trigonometric functions -- Appendix C: Sample kinematic and kinetic data -- Appendix D: Numerical example for caluculating projectile motion.
Musculoskeletal Assessment in Athletic Training with Navigate 2 Advantage Access by
Call Number: WE 141 K97 2022
Publication Date: 2020-11-27
"Musculoskeletal Assessment in Athletic Training and Therapy provides a comprehensive overview of common injuries impacting the extremities and the assessments and examinations the Athletic Trainer can conduct. Unit I "Foundations" introduces the student to the foundations of examination, evaluation, and musculoskeletal diagnosis, providing a helpful recap of relevant medical terminology along the way. Units II and III delve directly into the lower and upper extremities, reviewing relevant anatomy, discussing common injuries, and discussing their assessment. Finally, Unit IV "Medical Considerations and Risk Management" provides an overview of factors to keep in mind when evaluating the lower and upper extremities, including the needs of special populations, environmental conditions, and other medical conditions that can complicate the evaluation"-- Provided by publisher.
Fundamentals of Musculoskeletal Imaging by
Call Number: WE 141 M4785f 2021 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-12-18
"The goal of the is book has always been to serve as the key to the fundamentals of imaging, sufficient for any physical therapist to optimize their interactions with imaging. Despite similar educational preparation, there exists wide variability in a physical therapist's dealings with imaging. Whatever setting you practice in, this book will serve as a primer, a reference, or a decipher of diagnostic imaging to enable you to provide the best care for the patient"-- Provided by publisher.
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by
Call Number: WE 168 M191o 2021 7th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-12-14
"Orthopedic Physical Assessment, 7th Edition covers the principles of assessment for all of the body's structures and joints, including topics such as gait, posture, the head and face, amputees, primary care, and sports emergencies. The Student Consult ebook version includes all of the photos and drawings from the print book plus additional functional assessment forms (e-tools), updated evidence-based reliability and validity tables, and hundreds of video clips demonstrating special tests on how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. Written by noted PT educators David J. Magee and Robert C. Manske, this reference uses a systematic, evidence-based approach to prepare you for success in clinicals, board exams, and in rehabilitation practice" --Provided by publisher.
Radiologic Science for Technologists by
Call Number: WN 160 B979r 2021 12th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-12-30
"Develop the skills you need to produce diagnostic-quality medical images! Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 12th Edition provides a solid foundation in the concepts of medical imaging and digital radiography. Featuring hundreds of radiographs and illustrations, this comprehensive text helps you make informed decisions regarding technical factors, image quality, and radiation safety for both patients and providers. New to this edition are all-digital images and the latest radiation protection standards and units of measurement. Written by noted educator Stewart Carlyle Bushong, this text will prepare you for success on the ARRT® certification exam and in imaging practice."--Provided by publisher.
Dermatology Secrets by
Call Number: WR 18.2 D435 2021 6th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Structure and function of the skin -- Morphology of primary and secondary skin lesions -- Diagnostic techniques -- Disorders of keratinization -- Neurocutaneous disorders -- Mechanobullous disorders -- Papulosquamous skin eruptions -- Eczematous dermatitis -- Contact dermatitis -- Vesiculobullous disorders -- Pustular eruptions -- Lichenoid skin eruptions -- Granulomatous diseases of the skin -- Drug eruptions -- Vasculitis -- Deposition disorders -- Photosensitive dermatitis -- Disorders of pigmentation -- Panniculitis -- Alopecia -- Acne and acneiform eruptions -- Autoimmune connective tissue diseases -- Urticaria and angioedema -- Viral exanthems -- Bullous viral eruptions -- Warts and molluscum contagiosum -- Bacterial infections -- Sexually transmitted diseases -- Mycobacterial infections -- Superficial fungal infections -- Deep fungal infections -- Parasitic infestions -- Arthropod bites and stings -- Cutaneous manifestations of internal malignancy -- Cutaneous manifestations of endocrinologic disease -- Skin signs of gastrointestinal disease -- Cutaneous manifestations of renal disease -- Cutaneous manifestations of aids -- Cutaneous signs of nutritional disturbances -- Benign melanocytic tumors -- Vascular and lymphatic neoplasms -- Fibrous tumors of the skin -- Common cutaneous malignancies -- Melanoma -- Leukemic and lymphomatous infiltrates of the skin -- Uncommon malignant tumors of the skin -- Cutaneous metastases -- Sunscreens and prevention of skin cancer -- Topical steroids -- Fundamentals of cutaneous surgery -- Cryosurgery -- Mohs surgery -- Lasers in dermatology -- Therapeutic photomedicine -- Retinoids -- Neonatal infections -- Pediatric dermatology -- Geriatric dermatology -- Dermatoses of pregnancy -- Disorders of the female genitalia -- Disorders of the male genitalia -- Disorders of the oral mucosa -- Special considerations in skin of color -- Cultural dermatology -- Dermatologic emergencies -- Occupational dermatology -- Psychocutaneous diseases -- Approaching the pruritic patient -- Nail disorders -- Dermatologic trivia.
Call Number: WR 140 G39 2021eb 7th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-01-06
Samour and King's Pediatric Nutrition in Clinical Care by
Call Number: WS 115 P371 2020 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2019-03-26
"Every new copy includes Navigate 2 Essentials access. Samour & King's Pediatric Nutrition in Clinical Care, Fifth Edition provides comprehensive coverage of the nutritional aspects of pediatric clinical care. A widely trusted resource for more than twenty years, this text combines coverage of nutrition assessment and care with detailed coverage of normal growth, relevant disease states, and medical nutrition therapy. After reading this book, students and practitioners alike will be able to discuss the nutrition guidelines associated with normal growth and development, and they will be better able to determine medical nutrition therapy interventions for children with diseases, injuries, genetic disorders, and weight issues"-- Provided by publisher.
"A widely trusted resource for more than twenty years, this text combines coverage of nutrition assessment and care with detailed coverage of normal growth, relevant disease states, and medical nutrition therapy. After reading this book, students and practitioners alike will be able to discuss the nutrition guidelines associated with normal growth and development, and they will be better able to determine medical nutrition therapy interventions for children with diseases, injuries, genetic disorders, and weight issues. Market Information: The target audience for this text will be graduate-level programs in Dietetics and Nutrition. As of March 2017, the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) has accredited 221 didactic programs in dietetics and 61 coordinated programs in dietetics, and all of these programs are moving to a graduate degree given recommendations put forth by ACEND in 2012. Per our Revision Survey, Pediatric Nutrition is typically offered within graduate Dietetics and Nutritional Science programs as a required course. Median reported annual enrollment was 25, though responses varied from 14 to 30. Alternate names include the following: - Maternal Child Nutrition - Advanced Pediatric and Adolescent Nutrition - Advanced Clinical Nutrition: Pediatrics"-- Provided by publisher.