Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LOGAN UNIVERSITY Library Research Guides
"They Say/I Say" by
Call Number: PE 1421 G736 2021 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
"This book demystifies academic writing and shows how to engage with the views of others. Extensively revised in response to feedback from our community of adopters, this edition of They Say / I Say is an even more practical companion for students, featuring a new chapter on Researching Conversations, new exercises, expanded support for reading, and an expanded chapter on Revising. By focusing on the rhetorical moves found in all disciplines, They Say helps students master the ins and outs of argumentative writing in accessible language and with examples students can apply throughout their college career"-- Provided by publisher.
Netter's Anatomy Coloring Book by
Call Number: QS 17 H249n 2022 3rd ed.
Publication Date: 2021-12-15
Orientation and introduction -- Skeletal system -- Muscular system -- Nervous system -- Cardiovascular system -- Lymphatic system -- Respiratory system -- Digestive system -- Urinary system -- Reproductive system -- Endocrine system.
Grant's Anatomy Coloring Book by
Call Number: QS 17 H567 2019
Publication Date: 2018-04-14
Back -- Upper limb -- Thorax -- Abdomen -- Pelvis and perineum -- Lower limb -- Head -- Neck -- Cranial nerves
Practical Applications in Sports Nutrition by
Call Number: QT 260 F499p 2018 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Revised and updated with a full-color design and art program, the Fifth Edition of Practical Applications in Sports Nutrition provides students and practitioners with the latest sports nutrition information and dietary practices so they can assist athletes and fitness enthusiasts in achieving their personal performance goals. With data and statistics from the latest nutrition research and guidelines, it demonstrates effective ways to communicate sports nutrition messages to athletes and how to motivate individuals to make permanent behavior change.
Conservative Management of Sports Injuries by
Call Number: QT 261 C755 2007 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2007-05-04
Overview of sports injuries management / Rick Ames, Stephen M. Perle -- Medicolegal issues in sports medicine (with special considerations for the chiropractor) / Thomas R. Daly, Dante M. Filetti -- The physiology of exercise, physical fitness, and cardiovascular endurance training / Arlette Perry -- Conservative rehabilitation of athletic injuries / Gary F. Ierna ... [et al.] -- Principles of soft tissue manipulation in sports medicine / Thomas F. Bergmann ... [et al.] -- Head trauma in sports / Bart N. Green, Claire D. Johnson, Jody C. Cormack -- Nerve injuries in competitive sports / Jerome M. True -- The cervical spine / Rick S. Saluga ... [et al.] -- The thoracic spine / Ed Feinberg, Mehdi Moossavi -- The lumbar spine in sports / Donald D. Aspergren, Venu Akuthota -- Heart disease and the athlete / Frank J. Pearl -- The trunk and viscera / Joanne J. Fava, Valli M. Gambina, Donald D. Aspergren -- The shoulder / Jason Pajaczkowski, Andreo A. Spina -- The elbow, wrist, and hand / Gregory H. Doerr ... [et al.] -- The pelvis, hip, and thigh / Stephen M. Perle, Rick Ames -- The knee / Thomas A. Souza, Thomas E. Hyde -- Biomechanics of the foot and ankle / Thomas C. Michaud -- Injuries to the leg, ankle, and foot / Ted L. Forcum -- The female athlete / Abigail A. Irwin ... [et al.] -- The young athlete : special considerations / Robin A. Hunter, Jeffrey L. Hunter -- Physical activity and the older person / Brian J. Gleberzon, Marianne S. Gengenbach, Patrick Montgomery -- Extreme sports and the extreme athlete / Michael A. Rintala ... [et al.] -- Diagnostic imaging of athletic injury / Michael S. Barry, Norman W. Kettner -- Sports nutrition: a biochemical view of injury care and prevention / David R. Seaman -- Performance-enhancing drugs in sport / Mauro G. Di Pasquale.
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by
Call Number: QW 4 J41r 2019 28th ed.
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
SECTION I: FUNDAMENTALS OF MICROBIOLOGY -- Chapter 1: The Science of Microbiology -- Chapter 2: Cell Structure -- Chapter 3: Classification of Bacteria -- Chapter 4: Growth, Survival, and Death of Microorganisms -- Chapter 5: Cultivation of Microorganisms -- Chapter 6: Microbial Metabolism -- Chapter 7: Microbial Genetics -- SECTION II: IMMUNOLOGY -- Chapter 8: Immunology -- SECTION III: BACTERIOLOGY -- Chapter 9: Pathogenesis of Bacterial Infection -- Chapter 10: Normal Human Microbiota -- Chapter 11: Spore-Forming Gram-Positive Bacilli: Bacillus and Clostridium Species -- Chapter 12: Aerobic Non-Spore-Forming Gram-Positive Bacilli: Corynebacterium, Listeria, Erysipelothrix, Nocardia, and Related Pathogens -- Chapter 13: The Staphylococci -- Chapter 14: The Streptococci, Enterococci, and Related Genera -- Chapter 15: Enteric Gram-Negative Rods (Enterobacteriaceae) -- Chapter 16: Pseudomonas, Acinetobacter, Burkholderia, and Stenotrophomonas -- Chapter 17: Vibrio, Aeromonas, Campylobacter, and Helicobacter -- Chapter 18: Haemophilus, Bordetella, Brucella, and Francisella -- Chapter 19: Yersinia and Pasteurella -- Chapter 20: The Neisseriae -- Chapter 21: Infections Caused by Anaerobic Bacteria -- Chapter 22: Legionella, Bartonella, and Unusual Bacterial Pathogens -- Chapter 23: Mycobacteria -- Chapter 24: Spirochetes: Treponema, Borrelia, and Leptospira -- Chapter 25: Mycoplasmas and Cell Wall-Defective Bacteria -- Chapter 26: Rickettsia and Related Genera -- Chapter 27: Chlamydia spp. -- Chapter 28: Antimicrobial Chemotherapy -- SECTION IV: VIROLOGY -- Chapter 29: General Properties of Viruses -- Chapter 30: Pathogenesis and Control of Viral Diseases -- Chapter 31: Parvoviruses -- Chapter 32: Adenoviruses -- Chapter 33: Herpesviruses -- Chapter 34: Poxviruses -- Chapter 35: Hepatitis Viruses -- Chapter 36: Picornaviruses (Enterovirus and Rhinovirus Groups) -- Chapter 37: Reoviruses, Rotaviruses, and Caliciviruses -- Chapter 38: Arthropod-Borne and Rodent-Borne Viral Diseases -- Chapter 39: Orthomyxoviruses (Influenza Viruses) -- Chapter 40: Paramyxoviruses and Rubella Virus -- Chapter 41: Coronaviruses -- Chapter 42: Rabies, Slow Virus Infections, and Prion Diseases -- Chapter 43: Human Cancer Viruses -- Chapter 44: AIDS and Lentiviruses -- SECTION V: MYCOLOGY -- Chapter 45: Medical Mycology -- SECTION VI: PARASITOLOGY -- Chapter 46: Medical Parasitology -- SECTION VII: DIAGNOSTIC MEDICAL MICROBIOLOGY AND CLINICAL CORRELATION -- Chapter 47: Principles of Diagnostic Medical Microbiology -- Chapter 48: Cases and Clinical Correlations.
Kuby Immunology by
Call Number: QW 504 O97 2019 8th ed.
Publication Date: 2018-05-25
The 8th edition of 'Kuby Immunology' presents an up-to-date and comprehensive introduction to the principles and findings of immunology. It contains full-colour illustrations, study questions, study aids and much more.
The Trophoblast and the Origins of Cancer by
Call Number: QZ 201 G642 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Part I. The trophoblast as metaphor for cancer. Trophoblast implantation -- an overview -- The molecular biology of the trophoblast -- Trophoblast invasion, migration, and angiogenesis -- The trophoblast is cancer -- Germ cells and stem cells: proof for Dr. Beard? -- Part II. The history of the enzyme treatment of cancer. From fish to trophoblast -- The trophoblast and the pancreas -- Pancreatic enzymes during fetal life -- The evolution of enzyme treatment -- Oral versus injectable preparations -- The stability of oral enzyme preparations -- Active enzyme versus precursor: which works best against cancer?
Behavioral Medicine a Guide for Clinical Practice 5th Edition by
Call Number: W 84.6 B422 2020 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2019-11-29
"This fifth edition of Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice features important revisions of chapters from the previous editions to reflect advances in pharmacotherapy and evidence on the relationship between psychosocial factors and disease"-- Provided by publisher.
NBCE® PART 1 Chiropractic Board Review by
Call Number: WB 18.2 C541 2021 Pt. 1
Publication Date: 2021-06-23
Chapter 1 First and Foremost: General Strategies, Open Invitation. -- Chapter 2 Most Asked Questions: General Anatomy, Spinal Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, Microbiology. Includes correct answers and explanations at the end of each question section. -- Chapter 3 Last But Not Least, Open Invitation, Secrets.
Clean Needle Technique Manual for Acupuncturists by
Call Number: WB 39 C623 2009 6th ed.
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Mechanisms of disease transmission -- Hepatitis -- Human immunodeficiency disease (HIV) -- Methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) -- General CNT protocol -- CNT in a travel setting -- CNT in a public health setting -- Federal standards and guidelines -- Exposure control plan -- Establishing and maintaining a clean and safe office environment -- Recommendations for practitioner health and hygiene -- Record keeping -- Accident management.
Basic Life Support Provider Manual by
Call Number: WG 205 B657 2020
Publication Date: 2020-10-21
"The BLS Provider Manual contains all the information students need to successfully complete the BLS Course. This manual is designed for a single user, with text that is ideal for use as a reference tool before and after the BLS Course. The BLS Provider Manual includes the BLS Reference Card, which is also sold separately (product 20-1132). This product has been updated with new science from the 2020 Guidelines for CPR and ECC and replaces the previous version (15-1010). If you are a student, please confirm with your Training Center that this is the appropriate product for your training." -- www.heart.org.
Lange Clinical Neurology, 11th Edition by
Call Number: WL 141 A517 2021 11th ed.
Publication Date: 2020-11-13
"The most concise guide to one of the most complex topics in medicine updated with the latest advances in the field. Clinical Neurology, 11th Edition, provides a comprehensive overview of basic and clinical neurology in a concise, digestible format. It links clinical neuroscience to current approaches for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating neurologic disorders. Covering all the advances in molecular biology and genetics, this popular guide emphasizes history taking and neurologic examination as the cornerstones of diagnosis, and presents all information as a practice-oriented approach to neurology based on the patient's presenting symptoms or signs. This new edition covers the latest developments in neurogenetics ; pathogenesis of neurodegenerative disorders ; and treatment of neurologic infections, migraine, cluster headache, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, spinal muscular atrophy, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, and stroke."--taken from back cover.
Christensen's Physics of Diagnostic Radiology by
Call Number: WN 110 C976c 1990 4th ed.
Publication Date: 1990-08-01
Rev. ed. of: Christensen's introduction to the physics of diagnostic radiology. 3rd ed./Thomas S. Curry III, James E. Dowdey, Robert C. Murry, Jr. 1984.
Includes bibliographical references and index. Emergency Care by
Call Number: WX 215 E483 2016
Publication Date: 2015-02-11
For over 30 years, Emergency Care has provided generations of EMT students with the practical information they need to succeed in the classroom and in the field. Updated with the latest research and developments in emergency medical services, this edition meets the 2010 American Heart Association guidelines for CPR and ECC. Using the National EMS Education Standards as a foundation, Emergency Care goes beyond the Standards to provide the most current, accurate reflection of EMS practice today. The text integrates scientific principles in an easy-to-understand way, with a host of critical-thinking features that help students learn to think like EMTs.