Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LOGAN UNIVERSITY Library Research Guides
Books of Interest from the Logan Catalog
Copyright for Teachers and Librarians in the 21st Century by
Call Number: KF 2995 B885 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Library educator Rebecca Butler explains fair use, public domain, documentation and licenses, permissions, violations and penalties, policies and ethics codes, citations, creation and ownership, how to register copyrights, and gives tips for staying out of trouble. --from publisher descritpion.
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by
Call Number: KF 2995 C927c 2006 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The reach of copyright -- The scope of protectable works -- Works without copyright protection -- Rights of ownership -- Duration and formalities: how long do copyrights last? -- Who owns the copyright? -- The rights of copyright owners -- Exceptions to the rights of owners -- Working with fair use -- Fair use: getting started -- Fair use: understanding the four factors -- Getting comfortable with fair use: applying the four factors -- The meaning of fair-use guidelines -- Focus on education and libraries -- Distance education and the TEACH act -- Libraries and the special provisions of section 108 -- Responsibilities, liabilities, and doing the right thing -- Special features -- Music and copyright -- The digital millennium copyright act -- Copyright and unpublished materials -- Permission from copyright owners.
Technology and Copyright Law by
Call Number: KF 3030 B587t 2007 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Explains the intent of copyright law, how it developed, and where it is headed; provides guidance for making copyright decisions; and discusses the electronic classroom and international copyright agreements.
The Complete Copyright Liability Handbook for Librarians and Educators by
Call Number: KF 3080 L764c 2006
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
What is direct copyright infringement? -- What is contributory copyright infringement? -- What is vicarious infringement? -- What are damages and how can they be limited? -- How can libraries and schools obtain immunity? -- What is the section 512 safe harbor? -- How should libraries and schools respond to claims of infringement? -- What is different about Section 512 in higher education? -- What about technological protections on copyright under Section 1201? -- What must be done to legally reproduce and distribute copyrighted materials in the library -- What about the circulation of copyrighted software? -- What's different about copyright compliance for distance education programs? -- Afterword : Final thoughts about liability, immunity, and risk assessment in copyright law.
Copyright Law and the Distance Education Classroom by
Call Number: KF 4209 L764c 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-28
pt. I: Understanding the limitations on exclusive rights for educators. Performance and display rights in the live classroom and the remote classroom : the need for reform -- pt. II: Understanding the new TEACH distance education law. The scope of the privilege for educators : excluded materials -- New rights and limitations regarding use of copyrighted material : Section 110(2) and Subsections (A), (B), and (C) -- New responsibilities for the institution : Section 110(2)(D) -- Summary of part II : the Section 110(2) requirements in a nutshell -- pt. III: Completing the TEACH puzzle. The ephemeral recording privilege in distance education : the old and the new -- Fair use of copyrighted material in the distance education classroom -- Appendix A.A TEACH Q & A audit -- Appendix B. Model distance education copyright policy -- Appendix C. Copyright statute sections (selected).
Managing Copyright in Higher Education by
Call Number: Z 642 F47 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-30
"As more and more colleges and universities establish copyright offices and/or assign the responsibilities of copyright education and advisory services to specific individuals within the institution, many times librarians, there is a paucity of resources available on how to manage that responsibility. Most works on copyright discuss the law and court cases interpreting the law but few address the situational application of it and the management and coordination of copyright efforts on a campus.
Here is a complete, one-stop, guide to managing copyright at all levels--community college, college, and university."-- Provided by publisher.
eBooks on Copyright
Copyright and E-learning : A Guide for Practitioners by
Call Number: Online book
Publication Date: 2016
Jane Secker and Chris Morrison have completely revised and updated this highly successful text to take into account recent developments in the field and changes to the law in the UK and elsewhere in the world. Through its practically based overview of current and emerging copyright issues facing those working in e-learning, this book will help equip professionals with the tools, skills and understanding they need to work confidently and effectively in the virtual learning environment with the knowledge that they are doing so legally. New and developing services, software and other technologies are being adapted for online learning environments to engage students and academic staff. These technologies present increasing challenges to IPR and legal issues and this book will help librarians and educators to meet them. Key topics addressed include: •digitizing published content for delivery in the VLE •using digital media in e-learning •copyright issues and ‘born'digital resources •the copyright issues associated with using social media •copyright training for staff •who owns the rights in works that are the product of collaboration? •what do you do if you can't find the rights holders? Readership: This book is essential reading for anyone working in education including learning support staff and teachers using e-learning, learning technologists, librarians, educational developers, instructional designers, IT staff and trainers. It is also relevant for anyone working in the education sector from school level to higher education, and those developing learning resources in commercial organizations and the public sector including libraries, museums and archives, and government departments.
The Copyright Handbook by
Call Number: Online book
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
This must-have handbook for writers and artists provides every necessary form to protect written expression under U.S. and international copyright law. With step-by-step instructions, it illustrates how to: register a written work with the copyright office determine what works can be protected transfer copyright ownership define and avoid infringement maintain electronic publishing rights This edition is completely updated to provide the latest case law and copyright regulations, including updates on all the latest cases and changes to copyright law and on electronic ﬁling.
Copyright Questions and Answers for Information Professionals by
Call Number: Online book
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Copyright law is a critical issue for authors, librarians, publishers, and information vendors. It is also a complex area, with many shades of gray. Librarians continually need to seek answers to questions ranging from the reproduction of copyrighted works for library users, through the performance of audiovisual works, to the digitization and display of protected works on library websites. This book presents updated versions of the author's copyright columns published in Against the Grain, the leading journal in acquisitions librarianship since the late 1990s. It is the first volume in the series Charleston Insights in Library, Archival, and Information Sciences. The aim of the Charleston Insights series is to focus on important topics in library and information science, presenting the issues in a relatively jargon-free way that is accessible to all types of information professionals, including librarians, publishers, and vendors, and this goal shapes the pragmatic and accessible tone of the book. The volume is presented in question-and-answer format. The questions are real, submitted by librarians, educators, and other information professionals who have attended the author's copyright law workshops and presentations or submitted them to her by e-mail or telephone. The author has selected the questions and answers that have general applicability. She has then arranged them into logical chapters, each prefaced by a short introduction to the topic. Because it is written in an accessible and clear style, readers may want to review the entire work or they can just access particular chapters or even specific questions as they need them. The volume includes an index to facilitate reference use.
Complex Copyright by
Call Number: Online book
Publication Date: 2012-01-28
This book draws on a wide selection of interdisciplinary literature discussing complex adaptive systems - including scholarship from economics, political science, evolutionary biology, cognitive science, and religion - to apply general complexity tenets to the institutions, conceptual framework, and theoretical justifications of the copyright system, both in the United States and internationally. The author argues that copyrighted works are the products of complex creative systems and, consequently, designers of copyright regimes for the global'information ecosystem'should look to complexity theory for guidance. Urging legal scholars to undertake empirical studies of real-world copyright systems, Tussey reveals how the selection of workable configurations for the copyright regime is larger than that encompassed by the traditional, entirely theoretical, debate between private property rights and the commons. Finally, this unique study articulates how copyright law must tolerate certain chaotic elements that may be essential to the sustainability of complex systems.
Crash Course in Copyright
This University of Texas resource provides free online lessons on various aspects of copyright, including fair use, the TEACH Act, and digital resources.
Know Your Copy Rights
Information on using copyrighted works in academic settings presented by the Association of Research Libraries
Copyright Clearance Center (CCC)
In addition to providing licensing solutions for copyrighted material, the CCC also offers webinars and certificate programs for those interested in learning more about copyright.