Off-Campus Guide to Library Resources: Accessing Articles & Databases

Get Started!

If you are unsure which database to use to search for peer-reviewed materials, try starting with PubMed or EBSCOhost. Access both from the library's databases page.

PubMed - It is important to use the library's database link for PubMed because this will connect you to the library's full text. See the PubMed Tutorial for more info.

EBSCOhost - When you click on EBSCOhost, you will be greeted with a list of databases. Just click Continue to search them all at once. Here are some tips to make your search easier:

• Click on Advanced Search under the main search box. Place your keywords or concepts on separate lines.
• Peer Reviewed - Limit your results to peer-reviewed (scholarly) materials on the side limiters.
• Academic Journals - Choose this under "Source Types."
• Full Text - If we have something in full text, you will see a PDF or a link to access the article. If we do not, you will see a link to request the item by interlibrary loan. 

Looking for something we don't own?

Use interlibrary loan to request articles or books from other libraries with these simple steps. 

• Sign in to your interlibrary loan account and choose Create Request or use the form displayed from PubMed or EBSCOhost databases.
• Fill out as much information as possible. 
• Submit Request.

Articles are placed into your account as a PDF and you will receive an email notification when ready to view. Books are available to pick up at the circulation desk and you will receive an email notification when ready for pick-up. 

How to Check on Pending and Past Requests?

To view the status of a pending interlibrary loan request, you can sign in to your account, using the link above, and click on view/modify my current outstanding request. 

Check the library’s current holdings before requesting an item by interlibrary loan. Use the Journal Holdings for articles and the Library Catalog and MOBIUS catalog for books.

Remote access to library materials online will be easy!  When you attempt to access a database or an article from the library's web site, you will be prompted to log in with your Logan email and password.

It will look like this:

Having trouble with access?

If the issue is related to a specific library source, contact the library.

If you are unable to access any library sources and/or have general trouble logging into your Logan email, check the Information Systems department help page or email them at help@logan.edu.