LibGuides: eBooks: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Logan eBook libguide!

The availability of eBooks in libraries is increasing across the country and our library at Logan is no exception. They are available to currently enrolled Logan students and faculty and staff 24/7. The books are viewed on your computer - no e-reading devices required!

The purpose of this libguide is to help locate electronic copies of books held by the library. If accessing books from off-campus, you will need your Logan email login and password to access our books.

To link directly to the text of the eBook, click on the title.

Searching eBooks in the Logan Catalog

Click on this tutorial to explore how to use Logan's catalog to limit your search to eBooks.

Logan Library Discovery Search

Search all of the library's materials through EBSCO Discovery Search below.

EBSCO eBooks - Searching

Click on this tutorial to explore how to use EBSCO's website to search for eBooks.

EBSCO eBooks Search

Logan eBook Search via Vendors

In addition to searching for eBooks in the Logan catalog, you can also go directly to the eBook platform. To search for materials directly from one of our eBook platforms, click on the links below.

EBSCO eBooks Links to EBSCO's search box. Enter keywords into the search box to see Logan owned materials and other books that EBSCO provides to us.
OverDrive OverDrive contains eBooks and audiobooks through the MOBIUS consortium. The collection contains most genres of books, including leisure reading. Use your Logan email credentials to log in where prompted for "card number."
OVID eBooks OVID eBooks owned by the LRC.
ProQuest eBook Central eBooks in Logan's collection which are on the ProQuest platform.
R2 Digitial Library The R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing, and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
ScienceDirect Use this link to Science Direct to access Logan's full-text collection. Use Get Access - Request Document to request articles by interlibrary loan.
Springer eBooks Springer contains open access eBooks on a variety of subjects.

Need Help?

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

library@logan.edu
Call: 636-230-1781
Text: 636-200-5426
Schedule an Appointment

Tutorials
How to use databases, locate full text and peer reviewed materials, and more.

Free books to download

Looking for other types of eBooks that can be downloaded for free? The following list is not exhaustive but it does represent some good places to find eBooks that you can download to your e-reader or read online.

Google books This link opens in a new window

Directory of Open Access Books
More than 3,900 peer-reviewed academic books
Free audio books to download
91 sites that offer free and legal audio books to download or listen to online
Free Books 4 Doctors
Free online medical texts and reference books
Free books to download
Links to 446 (and counting) sites that offer free and legal books for downloading or for online reading
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of over 60 research institutions whose mission is to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
Internet Archive
Over 700,000 books that have been digitized and are available to borrow.
Internet Library
The Internet Library is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 36,000 ebooks for download to an e-reader.
Springer Open Access eBooks

Purchase Recommendation

Do you have any materials that you would like to recommend for inclusion in the library's collection? Simply fill out the form below.

Purchase Recommendation Form