eBooks: Medical Practice

Case Studies for Complementary Therapists: a collaborative approach provides curriculum-level support for those working to develop the complementary potential between alternative medicines and conventional western medicine.
This useful complementary medicine textbook provides insight into the initial complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) consultation process.
It offers possible treatment and collaborative referral options for individual cases, rather than dictating diagnostic analysis or treatment protocols for specific health conditions.
Through case studies on conditions like rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia, the book provides an important framework for clinicians and students, within which they can analyse and classify information gathered during consultation.
The book will also help readers develop effective and appropriate treatment programs within the time constraints of a busy clinic. [www.amazon.com]

Diagnostic testing -- Blood studies : hematology and coagulation -- Urine studies -- Stool studies -- Cerebrospinal fluid studies -- Chemistry studies -- Microbiologic studies -- Immunodiagnostic studies -- Nuclear medicine studies -- X-ray and computed tomography (CT) studies -- Cytologic, histologic, and genetic studies -- Endoscopic studies -- Ultrasound studies -- Pulmonary function, arterial blood gases (ABGs), and electrolyte studies -- Prenatal diagnosis and tests of fetal well-being -- Special diagnostic studies.

Overview of the aims and management of rheumatological conditions : the multidisciplinary approach / Krysia Dziedzic ... [et al.] -- The user patient journey / Susan M. Oliver, Ailsa Bosworth -- Initial clinical assessment of patients with possible rheumatic disease / Andrew Hassell, Janet Cushnaghan -- The measurement of patient-reported outcome in the rheumatic diseases / Kirstie L. Haywood -- Applying the biopsychosocial model to the management of rheumatic disease / Sarah Ryan, Alison Carr -- Patient education and self management / Alison Hammond, Karin Niedermann -- The principles of therapeutic exercise and physical activity / Mike V. Hurley, Lindsay M. Bearne -- Physical therapies : treatment options in rheumatology / Lindsay M. Bearne, Mike V. Hurley -- Occupational therapy : treatment options in rheumatology / Lynne Goodacre, Janet E. Harkess -- Joint protection and fatigue management / Alison Hammond -- Applying psychological interventions in rheumatic disease / Elizabeth D. Hale, Gareth J. Treharne.";"Orthotics of the hand / Jo Adams -- Podiatry, biomechanics, and the rheumatology foot / Jim Woodburn, Deborah E. Turner -- Diet and complementary therapies / Dorothy Pattison, Adrian White -- Pharmacological treatments in rheumatic diseases / Benazir Saleem, Philip G. Conaghan -- Inflammatory arthritis / Anne O'Brien, Catherine Backman -- Osteoarthritis / Krysia Dziedzic, Susan L. Murphy, Helen Myers -- Fibromyalgia syndrome and chronic widespread pain / Joseph G. McVeigh, Rachel O'Brien -- Ankylosing spondylitis and the seronegative spondyloarthopathies / Mark L. Clemence -- Osteoporosis / Caitlyn Dowson, Rachel Lewis -- Connective tissue disorders / Janet L. Poole and Jane S. Brandenstein -- Physiotherapy and occupational therapy for children and young people with juvenile idiopathic arthritis / Janine Hackett, Bernadette Johnson -- Miscellaneous conditions / Edward Roddy, David G.I. Scott.

The proliferation of special tests used in musculoskeletal examination has left the clinician with a vast array of physical tests at their disposal. Special Tests in Musculoskeletal Examination is a handy one-stop guide with over 150 peripheral tests. The clinical context and evidence base is thoroughly explored and the addition of clinical tips and expert opinion will enable the clinician to select the most appropriate tests and interpret the results meaningfully. Step-by-step description for each test, Clear photographic illustrations, 'At a glance' presentation of the background evidence, Detailed clinical context Comprehensive referencing of orthopaedic special tests, Clinical tips.

Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, edited by Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman and Patrick J. Neligan, provides objective data and expert guidance to help answer the most important questions challenging ICU physicians today. It discusses the clinical options, examines the relevant research, and presents expert recommendations on everything from acute organ failure to prevention issues. An outstanding source for "best practices" in critical care medicine, this book is a valuable framework for translating evidence into practice. It also provides access to the full text online, with regular updates to emerging clinical evidence. Gain valuable evidence-based recommendations on key topics such as acute organ failure, infection, sepsis and inflammation, and prevention issues pointing the way to the most effective approaches. Get an overview of each question, an outline of management options, a review of the relevant evidence, areas of uncertainty, existing management guidelines, and authors2 recommendations. Navigate a full range of challenges from routine care to complicated and special situations. Find the information you need quickly with tables that summarize the available literature and recommended clinical approaches. Stay current on the latest advances in the field with full-text, online access that includes regular updates to emerging clinical evidence.

Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, edited by Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman and Patrick J. Neligan, provides objective data and expert guidance to help answer the most important questions challenging ICU physicians today. It discusses the clinical options, examines the relevant research, and presents expert recommendations on everything from acute organ failure to prevention issues. An outstanding source for "best practices" in critical care medicine, this book is a valuable framework for translating evidence into practice. It also provides access to the full text online, with regular updates to emerging clinical evidence. Gain valuable evidence-based recommendations on key topics such as acute organ failure, infection, sepsis and inflammation, and prevention issues pointing the way to the most effective approaches. Get an overview of each question, an outline of management options, a review of the relevant evidence, areas of uncertainty, existing management guidelines, and authors2 recommendations. Navigate a full range of challenges from routine care to complicated and special situations. Find the information you need quickly with tables that summarize the available literature and recommended clinical approaches. Stay current on the latest advances in the field with full-text, online access that includes regular updates to emerging clinical evidence.

Covering all commonly used interventions for acute and chronic low back pain conditions, Evidence-Based Management of Low Back Pain consolidates current scientific studies and research evidence into a single, practical resource. Its multidisciplinary approach covers a wide scope of treatments from manual therapies to medical interventions to surgery, organizing interventions from least to most invasive. No other book makes it so easy to compare the different interventions and treatment approaches, giving you the tools to make better, more informed clinical decisions. A multidisciplinary approach covers treatments from manual therapies to medical interventions to surgery, and many others in between. An interdisciplinary approach enables health care providers to work together. A logical, easy-to-follow organization covers information by intervention type, from least invasive to most invasive. Integration of interventions provides information in a clinically useful way, so it's easier to consider more than one type of treatment or intervention for low back pain, and easier to see which methods should be tried first. 155 illustrations include x-rays, photos, and drawings.

pt. 1. Integrative and complementary medicine -- pt. 2. Integrative and complementary approaches to common clinical problems -- pt. 3. Precaution when practising complementary medicine.

How to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level. (http://www.amazon.com)

Intro -- Immunotherapeutics -- Copyright -- Contents -- Contributors -- Chapter One: In silico tools and databases for designing cancer immunotherapy -- 1. Introduction -- 2. Cancer associated genomic data -- 2.1. Genome profile repositories -- 2.2. Mutation profile databases -- 2.3. Cancer biomarker repositories -- 3. Immunological database -- 4. Analysis of genomic profiles -- 5. Prediction of cancer biomarkers -- 6. Identification of vaccine candidates -- 6.1. B-cell epitope -- 6.2. MHC binders -- 6.3. T-cell epitope -- 6.4. Cytokines inducing peptides -- 6.5. Neoepitope for cancer
7. Important pipelines -- 7.1. HLA typing -- 7.2. Neoantigen -- 8. Cancer-specific immunotherapy -- 9. Miscellaneous -- 10. Discussion and conclusion -- Acknowledgments -- References -- Chapter Two: Immunotherapeutic approaches for HPV-caused cervical cancer -- 1. Introduction -- 2. HPV -- 2.1. Structure -- 2.2. HPV types -- 2.3. Viral life cycle and pathogenesis -- 2.4. Immune response to HPV infection -- 3. Vaccines -- 4. HPV therapeutic vaccines -- 4.1. Peptide-/protein-based vaccines -- 4.2. Vector-based vaccines -- 4.3. Nano-delivery systems -- 4.4. DNA-based vaccines
4.5. RNA-based vaccines -- 4.6. Cell-based vaccines -- 4.6.1. Dendritic cell-based vaccines -- 4.6.2. Tumor-cell-based vaccines -- 4.6.3. Adoptive T-cell therapy -- 4.7. Therapeutic HPV vaccines in combination with therapeutic modalities -- 4.7.1. Therapeutic HPV vaccines accompanied by immune checkpoint blockade -- 4.7.2. Therapeutic HPV vaccines along with chemo-immunotherapy and radiotherapy -- 4.7.3. Therapeutic HPV vaccines in combination with other treatment modalities -- 5. Conclusion -- Funding -- Conflicts of interest -- References
Chapter Three: Natural killer cell-based strategies for immunotherapy of cancer -- 1. Natural killer cells origin and functions -- 2. NK cell recognition in health and disease -- 2.1. NK cell receptor families -- 2.1.1. C-type lectin-like receptors -- 2.1.2. Killer immunoglobulin-like receptors -- 2.1.3. Natural cytotoxicity receptors -- 3. NK cells as a tool of cancer immunotherapy -- 3.1. Cancer immunosurveillance -- 3.2. Mechanisms of tumor escape from NK cell immunosurveillance -- 4. NK cell-based immunotherapeutics -- 4.1. Activated NK cell-based therapeutics
4.2. Recombinant protein-based NK cell therapeutics -- 4.3. Gene-modified NK cell-based therapeutics -- 5. Concluding remarks -- Acknowledgments -- References -- Chapter Four: Noncoding RNAs as novel immunotherapeutic tools against cancer -- 1. Introduction -- 2. Immunotherapy in human diseases -- 3. Immunotherapy in cancer -- 4. Noncoding RNAs in cancer -- 4.1. Reprogramming of macrophage differentiation & function by ncRNAs -- 4.2. Modulation of natural killer cell mediated cytotoxicity by ncRNAs -- 4.3. Regulation of neutrophil plasticity & activity by ncRNAs

Introductory Immunology: Basic Concepts for Interdisciplinary Applications, Second Edition is a completely updated, revised and expanded resource on the immune system as a primary defense for the maintenance of health and homeostasis. The book highlights the components of the human immune system and how they work together to confer protection against pathogenic invaders. It also creates an understanding of the basis for clinical tests and immune therapeutics and their importance in identifying and treating disease states. This updated edition will strengthen the foundation required to understand the placement of immune function within clinical practice, thus allowing a basic platform to define therapeutic treatments.

Immunity and Inflammation in Health and Disease: Emerging Roles of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods in Immune Support provides a comprehensive description of the various pathways by which our immune system works, the signals that trigger immune response and how foods can be used to contain inflammation and boost immunity. This book addresses the role of dietary nutrients in playing a balancing role between host defense and immune support, focusing on new and novel nutraceuticals and functional foods. The first three sections address the various aspects of activation of the immune system. The fourth section deals with the ramifications of a robust and excessive inflammatory response. The final section is focused on the association between nutrition and immunity and how deficiencies in certain nutrients may affect immunocompetence. The conclusion section collates the earlier chapters and discusses paradigm shifts in the field whereby new futuristic directions are also envisioned.

Front Cover; The Innate Immune System; Dedication; The Innate Immune System: A compositional and functional perspective; Copyright; Contents; Preface; Acknowledgments; 1 -- A Snapshot of the Innate Immune System; 1.1 A BRIEF HISTORY OF IMMUNITY; 1.1.1 The Rise of Innate Immunity; 1.1.2 Self, Nonself, and the "Danger" Hypothesis; 1.2 THE IMMUNE SYSTEM-A COMPLEX DEFENSE SYSTEM; 1.3 FUNCTIONAL ELEMENTS ON THE INNATE IMMUNE RESPONSE; 1.3.1 Barrier Functions; 1.3.2 Immune Tissues; 1.3.3 Immune Cells; 1.3.3.1 Granulocytes; 1.3.3.2 Monocytes; 1.3.3.3 Antigen-Presenting Cells.
1.3.3.4 Lymphocytes and Natural Killer Cells1.3.4 Protein and Peptide Defenses; 1.3.4.1 Pattern Recognition; 1.3.4.2 Complement; 1.3.4.3 Cytokines; 1.3.5 Cell Death; 1.4 THE MUCOSA-ASSOCIATED INNATE IMMUNE SYSTEM; 1.4.1 The Cells of the Gastrointestinal Tract Epithelium and Their Role in Innate Defense Mechanisms; 1.4.2 Peyer's Patches and M Cells; 1.4.3 Secreted Defenses; 1.4.3.1 Antimicrobial Peptides; 1.4.3.2 Immunoglobulin A; 1.4.3.3 Commensal Flora; 1.5 ADDITIONAL HOMEOSTATIC FUNCTIONS INVOLVED IN INNATE IMMUNE RESPONSES; 1.5.1 The Heat Shock Response; 1.5.2 The Unfolded Protein Response.
1.5.3 AutophagyREFERENCES AND FURTHER READING; Sections 1.1. and 1.2; Section 1.3; Section 1.4; Section 1.5; 2 -- Immune Cells and the Process of Pattern Recognition; 2.1 THE CELLULAR BASIS OF THE INNATE IMMUNE SYSTEM; 2.1.1 Monocytes; 2.1.2 Macrophages; 2.1.2.1 The Brain; 2.1.2.2 The Spleen; 2.1.2.3 The Bones; 2.1.2.4 The Lungs; 2.1.2.5 The Liver; 2.1.3 Dendritic Cells; 2.1.4 Neutrophils; 2.1.4.1 Migration From the Circulation; 2.1.4.2 Neutrophil-Driven Bacterial Killing; 2.1.5 Eosinophils; 2.1.6 Mast Cells and Basophils; 2.1.7 Innate Lymphoid Cells; 2.1.7.1 Natural Killer Cells.
2.2.4.2 Dectin-2 and Mincle2.2.4.3 Tyrosine-Based Activation Motif-Independent Signaling by C-Type Lectin Receptorss; 2.2.4.4 C-Type Lectin Receptors Can Act as Inhibitory Receptors; 2.2.5 Cytoplasmic Pattern Recognition Receptors; 2.2.6 Nucleotide-Binding, Leucine-Rich Repeat-Containing Receptor Signaling; 2.2.6.1 NOD1 and NOD2 Receptor Signaling; 2.2.6.2 Inflammasome-Based Signaling; 2.2.7 Nucleic Acid-Sensing Immune Receptors in the Cytoplasm; 2.2.7.1 The RIG-I Family; 2.2.7.2 The PYHIN Receptor Family; 2.2.7.3 STING and the Innate Detection of Nucleic Acids; REFERENCES AND FURTHER READING.

How viruses emerge to cause pandemics, how our immune system combats them, and how diagnostic tests, vaccines, and antiviral therapies work. Throughout history, humans have contended with pandemics. History is replete with references to plagues, pestilence, and contagion, but the devastation wrought by pandemics had been largely forgotten by the twenty-first century. Now, the enormous human and economic toll of the rapidly spreading COVID-19 disease offers a vivid reminder that infectious disease pandemics are one of the greatest existential threats to humanity. This book provides an accessible explanation of how viruses emerge to cause pandemics, how our immune system combats them, and how diagnostic tests, vaccines, and antiviral therapies work— concepts that are a foundation for our public health policies.

Clinical reasoning is a key skill underpinning clinical expertise. Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice is essential reading for the musculoskeletal practitioner to gain the contemporary knowledge and thinking capacity necessary to advance their reasoning skills. Now in its 2nd edition, it is the only all-in-one volume of up-to-date clinical reasoning knowledge with real-world case examples illustrating expert clinical reasoning. This new edition includes: . Comprehensively updated material and brand new chapters on pain science, psychosocial factors, and clinical prediction rules. . The latest clinical reasoning theory and practical strategies for learning and facilitating clinical reasoning skills. . Cutting-edge pain research and relevant psychosocial clinical considerations made accessible for the musculoskeletal practitioner. . The role of clinical prediction rules in musculoskeletal clinical reasoning. . 25 all new real-world, clinical cases by internationally renowned expert clinicians allowing you to compare your reasoning to that of the best.

Muscles and Meridians is a unique book that breaks new conceptual ground in the realm of human movement. Exploring the connection between evolutionary biology and Chinese meridians, the volume offers a novel and effective system of diagnosis and treatment of common musculoskeletal disorders. Describes a new model of human movement - the Contractile Field model Offers a rare and serious attempt to look at whole person movement patterns - akin to 1Anatomy Trains2 but with a stronger link to vertebrate evolution and development Suggests that much of our endemic back and leg pain is due to a loss of ease in postures that are 1archetypal2 to mankind Offers a profound new understanding of the world2s oldest medical map, the Chinese meridian map.

1. Introduction -- 2. Motor control -- 3. Motor abilities -- 4. Sensory abilities -- 5. Motor adaptation -- 6. Plasticity in the motor system -- 7. Motor reorganisation in musculoskeletal injury -- 8. Cognitive and behavioural considerations in neuromuscular rehabilitation -- 9. Managing non-traumatic pain conditions -- 10. Neuromuscular considerations in managing individuals with CNS damage -- 11. Developing a rehabilitation programme -- 12. Motor abilities, assessment to challenge: re-abilitation -- 13. Optimising proprioceptive recovery -- 14. Neuromuscular rehabilitation: summary.

The proliferation of special tests used in musculoskeletal examination has left the clinician with a vast array of physical tests at their disposal. Special Tests in Musculoskeletal Examination is a handy one-stop guide with over 150 peripheral tests. The clinical context and evidence base is thoroughly explored and the addition of clinical tips and expert opinion will enable the clinician to select the most appropriate tests and interpret the results meaningfully. Step-by-step description for each test, Clear photographic illustrations, 'At a glance' presentation of the background evidence, Detailed clinical context Comprehensive referencing of orthopaedic special tests, Clinical tips.

Neuroparasitology and Tropical Neurology, a new volume in The Handbook of Clinical Neurology, provides a comprehensive and contemporary reference on parasitic infections of the human nervous system. Parasitic infections are varied and some are resolved by the host's immune system, other infections may become established even though unnoticed, and some cause severe disease and death. In our modern world, neuroparasitoses are no longer geographically isolated and these infections now appear worldwide. Outside of a very few well understood pathologies, most parasitic infections have.

Acclaimed neuroscientist Gary Wenk reveals the fascinating impacts of exercise on the brain Decades of research demonstrate that regular modest levels of exercise improve heart and lung function and may relieve joint pain. Regular daily exercise will help your body to regulate blood sugar levels and reduce inflammation, and many of these benefits are a consequence of reducing the amount of body fat you carry around. Your body clearly benefits in many ways from regular exercise. Does your brain benefit as well? Does regular exercise positively affect brain function? Does our thinking become faster because we exercise? Does running a marathon make us smarter? Dr. Gary Wenk's goal is to provide a realistic perspective on what benefits your brain should expect to achieve from exercise. Your Brain on Exercise skillfully blends scholarship with illuminating insights and clarity. Without requiring any specialized knowledge about the brain, Your Brain on Exercise entertainingly illustrates the intersection between brain health, the consequences of exercise, and our need to eat in an entirely new light. An internationally renowned neuroscientist and medical researcher, Dr. Wenk has been educating college and medical students about the brain and lecturing around the world for more than forty years.

Part I. Nuclei of the human hypothalamus -- Part II. Neuropathology of the human hypothalamus and adjacent structures.

Front Cover; Handbook of Clinical Neurology; Series Editors; Copyright; List of contributors; Contents; Beginnings; Chapter 1: Ancient trepanation; Introduction; EphraIm George Squier and Paul Broca; The Discovery of Neolithic Trepanation; Diagnosing Trepanation; A Temporal and Geographic Survey of Ancient Trepanation; Why did they Trepan?; The Fate of Two Theories; Chapter 2: Mesopotamia; The Measure of Mesopotamia; Mesopotamian Medicine: Basic Tenets; Neurological Symptoms in Mesopotamian Medical Texts; Conclusions; Chapter 3: Neurology in Ancient Egypt; Introduction; Methodology; Sources
Egyptian Physicians and SurgeonsMedical Practice in Ancient Egypt; Neuroanatomy; Symptoms of Neurological Disease; Paleopathology of the Nervous System; Commentary on the Significance of Neurology in Ancient Egypt; Chapter 4: Neurology in the Bible and the Talmud; Introduction; Neurology in the Bible; Neurology in the Talmud; Conclusions; The Greco-Roman world; Introduction; Pre-Hippocratic Concepts: Mythological, Literary and Philosophical Sources; Hippocratic Neurology: The Brain in Health and Disease; Neuroanatomy in Alexandria: New Insights into the Structure of the Nervous System
The Millennial Debate About the ̀̀Regent PartT́́he Synthesis of Ancient Neurosciences in Rome: Galen on the Brain and Nerves; Conclusions; Chapter 6: After Galen: late Antiquity and the Islamic world; Introduction; Late Antiquity: Emergence of Galenism; The Arabic/islamic Period; A Paradigm Shift: Through Developments in the Physics of Light and Vision; Conclusions; Chapter 7: Neurological conditions in the European Middle Ages; Introduction; The Setting; Pathologies of Neurological Conditions; Neurologic Conditions and Social Responses
Chapter 8: The development of neurology and the neurological sciences in the 17th centuryIntroduction; Specific Prerequisites for the Rise of Neurology; How Neurology Came to Be; 1664: Cerebri Anatome; The Book on Convulsive Disorders; De Anima Brutorum: A Textbook of Neurophysiology and Neuropathology; The Pathological Part: Neurological and Neuropsychiatric Disorders; Impact, Reaction, and Partial Survival of Willis's Neurology; Chapter 9: Understanding the nervous system in the 18th century; Introduction; Hollow Nerves And Their Spirits; The Microscope; Some Clever Experiments
The Irritable and Sensitive Nervous SystemLife Forces and Medical Practices; Vibrations and Invisible, Subtle Fluids; Electricity, Medicine, and the Nerve Force; Looking Back; Origins of modern neurology; Chapter 10: The birth of localization theory; Introduction; Swedenborg and His Premonitions; Gall's Organology; Bouillaud and Aubertin; Broca on Localization; The Daxes on Cerebral Dominance; Jackson and the Right Hemisphere; The Motor Cortex; David Ferrier's Impact; Converging Lines of Evidence; Chapter 11: On the use of animal experimentation in the history of neurology; Introduction

Theory and practice -- Consciousness: concepts, neurobiology, terminology of impairments, theoretical models and philosophical background -- Consciousness: its neurological relevance -- Syndromes of impaired consciousness -- Delirium in the critically ill patient -- Coma and stupor -- Herniation -- Vegetative and minimally conscious states -- Specific entities -- Metabolic encephalopathies -- Nutritional disorders -- Coma induced by intoxication -- Ischemic stroke and anoxic-ischemic encephalopathy -- Infectious etiologies of altered consciousness -- Traumatic brain injury -- Seizures and impairment of consciousness -- Syncope -- Altered consciousness associated with brain neoplasms -- Abnormal conscious state and coma in transplant recipients -- Pregnancy and coma -- Psychogenic unresponsiveness and nonepileptic seizures -- Coma in childhood -- Management issues -- Management of the comatose patient -- Ethical issues in the management of patients with impaired consciousness.

Volume 1. Neurocritical care. The history of neurocritical care / E.F.M. Wijdicks -- Airway management and mechanical ventilation in acute brain injury / D.B. Seder, J. Bösel -- Neuropulmonology / A. Balofsky, J. George, P. Papadakos -- Neurocardiology / N.D. Osteraas, V.H. Lee -- Principles of intracranial pressure monitoring and treatment / M. Czosnyka, J.D. Pickard, L.A. Steiner -- Multimodal neurologic monitoring / G. Korbakis, P.M. Vespa -- Continuous EEG monitoring in the intensive care unit / G.B. Young, J. Mantia -- Management of the comatose patient / E.F.M. Wijdicks -- Management of status epilepticus / M. Pichler, S. Hocker -- Critical care in acute ischemic stroke / M. McDermott, T. Jacobs, L. Morgenstern -- Management of intracerebral hemorrhage / A.M. Thabet, M. Kottapally, J. Claude Hemphill III -- Management of aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage / N. Etminan, R.L. Macdonald -- Management of acute neuromuscular disorders / E.F.M. Wijdicks -- Critical care management of traumatic brain injury / D.K. Menon, A. Ercole -- Management of acute traumatic spinal cord injuries / C.D. Shank, B.C. Walters, M.N. Hadley -- Decompressive craniectomy in acute brain injury / D.A. Brown, E.F.M. Wijdicks -- Diagnosis and management of spinal cord emergencies / E.P. Flanagan, S.J. Pittock -- Diagnosis and management of acute encephalitis / J.J. Halperin -- Management of bacterial central nervous system infections / M.C. Brouwer, D. van de Beek -- Management of infections associated with neurocritical care / L. Rivera-Lara, W. Ziai, P. Nyquist -- Determinants of prognosis in neurocatastrophes / K. Sharma, R.D. Stevens -- Family discussions on life-sustaining interventions in neurocritical care / M.M. Adil, D. Larriviere -- Organ donation protocols / C.B. Maciel, D.Y. Hwang, D.M. Greer.
Volume 2. Neurology of critical illness. The scope of neurology of critical illness / E.F.M. Wijdicks -- Delirium in critically ill patients / A.J.C. Slooter, R.R. van de Leur and I.J. Zaal -- Posterior reversible encephalopathy in the intensive care unit / M. Toledano and J.E. Fugate -- Acute central neurotoxicology of drugs of abuse / S.J. Traub and M.D. Levine -- Seizures in the critically ill / J. Ch'ang and J. Claassen -- Intensive care unit-acquired weakness / J. Horn and G. Hermans -- Neurologic complications of transplantation / R. Dhar -- Neurologic complications of cardiac and vascular surgery / K. Sheth and E. Nourollahzadeh -- Neurology of cardiopulmonary resuscitation / M. Mulder and R.G. Geocadin -- Therapeutic hypothermia protocols / N. Badjatia -- Neurologic complications of polytrauma / L. Shutter and R.M. Jha -- Neurologic complications in critically ill pregnant patients / W.L. Wright -- Neurologic complications of sepsis -- septic encephalopathy / E. Schmutzhard and B. Pfausler -- Neurologic complications of acute environmental injuries / I.R. Ferreira da Silva and J.A. Frontera.

Clinical Neuroendocrinology, a volume in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology Series gives an overview of the current knowledge in the field of clinical neuroendocrinology. It focuses on the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases of the hypothalamus and the pituitary gland. It integrates a large number of medical disciplines, including clinical endocrinology, pediatrics, neurosurgery, neuroradiology, clinical genetics, and radiotherapy. Psychological consequences of various disorders and therapies, as well as therapeutic controversies, are discussed. It is the first textbook in th.

Front Cover -- Cerebrospinal Fluid in Neurologic Disorders -- Copyright -- Available titles -- Foreword -- Preface -- Contributors -- Contents -- Section I: General aspects -- Chapter 1: The use of cerebrospinal fluid in biomarker studies -- Introduction -- Definition of biomarkers and type of biomarkers -- Physiology of CSF -- Biomarker subtypes -- Proteins -- Metabolites -- Cell-free DNA -- Messenger RNA/micro RNA -- Exosomes -- Sample collection and biobanking: preanalytic variation -- Patient-related factors -- Age and sex
Genetic backgroundCircadian rhythm -- Coffee, chocolate, smoking, and alcohol consumption -- Preanalytic procedures -- Lumbar puncture -- Risk factors and recommendations in performing an LP -- Type of tube -- Evaporation -- Centrifugation speed and temperature -- Quality assessment of collection procedures -- Analytic aspects in CSF biomarker studies: assay development and validation -- Technical analysis: optimizing immunoassay validation and development of novel biomarkers -- Quality assessment of analytic procedures -- Matrix reference material
Clinical study design in CSF biomarker studiesDiscussion: how to increase the number of novel biomarkers? -- Concluding remarks -- References -- Chapter 2: The cerebrospinal fluid and barriers -- anatomic and physiologic considerations -- Introduction -- Physiology of CSF: what is CSF good for, where does it come from, how is it circulating, where does it go? -- Biologic function -- Sites of production -- Circulation -- Absorption -- Transfer mechanisms -- Barriers of the CNS compartment: what are the differences between BBB and BCB? -- The blood-brain barrier
The blood-CSF barrierAnatomy of CSF spaces: which brain areas are reflected by CSF analysis? -- CSF constituents: which factors influence their concentration and what is their implication for CSF analysis? -- Circadian changes -- Site of sampling (lumbar vs. ventricular CSF) -- Volume of CSF sampled -- Physical activity and head movement -- Clearance via specific transporters -- Surgical intervention -- Concluding remarks -- References -- Chapter 3: More than a drainage fluid: the role of CSF in signaling in the brain and other effects on brain tissue
The concept of volume transmissionThe functional influence of CSF on brain cells -- Adult neurogenesis -- CSF-contacting neurons -- The functional contribution of CSF in pathologic CNS conditions -- Traumatic brain injury (TBI) -- Anti-NMDAR encephalopathy -- Brain aging and dementia -- Summary -- Abbreviations -- References -- Chapter 4: Dosing, collection, and quality control issues in cerebrospinal fluid research using animal models -- Introduction -- CSF and brain interstitial fluid

"The Cerebellum: From Embryology to Diagnostic Investigations, Volume 154 is designed to update the reader on the latest and clinically relevant advances in the study of cerebellar diseases in children and adults. It is organized into sections detailing: (1) Embryology, Anatomy and Function, and (2) Diagnostic investigations: Neuroimaging, and includes content on conventional sequences, diffusion tensor imaging, functional MRI, and connectivity studies. Its companion volume, The Cerebellum: Disorders and Treatment, describes disorders (starting from the fetal cerebellum, to adult cerebellum) encountered during daily practice and therapy (including insights into innovative drug and rehabilitative approaches to treat children and adults with cerebellar disorders)"--Publisher's description.

"The Cerebellum: Disorders and Treatment, Volume 155 updates readers on the latest and clinically relevant advances in the study of cerebellar diseases in children and adults. It is organized into sections detailing: (1) Disorders (starting from the fetal cerebellum, to adult cerebellum) encountered during daily practice, and (2) Therapy (including insights into innovative drug and rehabilitative approaches). The book's innovative structure discusses cerebellar disorders in children and adults as a continuum, with its companion volume, The Cerebellum: From Embryology to Diagnostic Investigations detailing embryology, anatomy, function and diagnostic investigations and neuroimaging, including conventional sequences, diffusion tensor imaging, functional MRI, and connectivity studies"--Publisher's description.

The field of brain stimulation is expanding rapidly, with techniques such as DBS, TMS, and tDCS moving from the research community into clinical diagnosis and treatment. Clinical applications include treating disorders such as Parkinson's disease, dystonia, and even depression. The chapters of Brain Stimulation are written by leading international researchers and clinical specialists include coverage of techniques, modes of action and applications in physiology and therapeutics. The combination of research and clinical coverage will be of interest to neurologists, neurosurgeons, psychiatrists, neuroscientists, and health care workers. A comprehensive introduction and overview of deep brain stimulation (DBS)Coverage of DBS, transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) and transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS)Details the basic science and research utility of DBS and clinical application.

Annotation A volume in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series on bacterial infections as they impact on the nervous system. A volume in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series, which has an unparalleled reputation as the world's most comprehensive source of information in neurology. International list of contributors including the leading workers in the field. Describes the advances which have occurred in clinical neurology and the neurosciences, their impact on the understanding of neurological disorders and on patient care.

Autonomic Nervous System provides an introduction to the latest science and detailed chapters on advances in the clinical diagnosis and treatment of autonomic system disorders. The autonomic nervous system controls all involuntary actions within the human nervous system. Core body functions regulated by the autonomic system include breathing, heartbeat, blood pressure, body temperature, perspiration, and bowel, bladder and sexual function. Our understanding of the neurotransmitters associated with the autonomic nervous system has expanded over the past 15 years associated with current research efforts and are now impacting the diagnosis and treatment of autonomic nervous system disorders by clinical neurologists. This volume is a valuable companion for neuroscience and clinical neurology researchers and practitioners. A volume in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series, which has an unparalleled reputation as the world's most comprehensive source of information in neurologyInternational list of contributors, including the leading workers in the fieldDescribes the advances that have occurred in clinical neurology and the neurosciences and their impact on the understanding of neurological disorders and on patient care.

Autoimmune Neurology presents the latest information on autoimmune neurologic disease, the immune response to the body where organs run wild, causing the immune system to attack itself. Autoimmunity is a main element in numerous nervous system diseases and can target any structure within the central or peripheral nervous system. Over the past 20 years, significant advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of autoimmune disorders, including the use of biomarkers has led to new diagnosis and treatment options. Neurologic conditions associated with autoimmune reactions include dementia, neuromuscular disease, epilepsy, sleep disorders, diabetes, and other common neurologic disorders and disease. This current tutorial-reference will be a must-have title for clinical neurologists, research neurologists, neuroscientists, and any medical professional working with autoimmune disease and disorders.

"This volume's primary goal is to provide a comprehensive understanding of recent developments and advancements in the study of ataxic disorders. Beginning with an examination of the cerebellar region, and then progressing to a fresh perspective on the clinical aspects of the various forms of ataxia, this handbook gives clinicians a state-of-the-art reference for the management of the many etiologies and neurological manifestations of ataxic disorders. Clinicians will gain a broader understanding of generative ataxias and the genetic disorders associated with them. In addition, new neurophysiological and imaging techniques are discussed, along with an in-depth examination of the treatment and management protocols of ataxic diseases."--Publisher's website.

Annotation Arteriovenous and Cavernous Malformations, Volume 143, is the latest addition in the ongoing HCN series, an evidence-based compendium which addresses both the scientific and clinical aspects of this unique disease process. The volume covers didactic aspects, such as the epidemiology, etiology, and diagnosis of AVMs, while also providing expert clinical information on the management and treatment of these lesions. In addition, it provides coverage of modern-day advances in the genetics of cavernous malformations, as well as discussion regarding future open research questions. Readers from the laboratory bench to the bedside can expect a broad, yet objective, review of this pathology, with updates from the latest scientific literature and data supporting current practices. Offers an evidence-based focus with coverage of both the scientific and clinical aspects of cavernous malformationsAddresses epidemiology, etiology, diagnosis, and geneticsContains clinical insights regarding indications for surgery, surgical techniques, outcomes, and prognostic factors drawn from the authors' extensive experiencesEdited work with chapters authored by leaders in the field from around the globe - the broadest, most expert coverage available.

Written by two leading experts in the field, Acupuncture in Neurological Conditions aims to improve patient care by combining Western and Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) concepts of treatment. The language of TCM is uniquely combined with that of evidence-based clinical reasoning to provide an approach relevant to both acupuncture and physiotherapy clinical practice. All major types of neurological conditions encountered in clinical practical are examined. Chinese medical patterns relevant to the application of acupuncture are described, as well as key patterns of dysfunction based on a Western medical perspective. The place of acupuncture within the overall management of different neurological conditions is also discussed. Clinical reasoning options from both TCM and Western medical perspectives are provided, and illustrated by real cases from clinical practice forming a sound platform for true integrated medicine. Fully evidence-based Provides clinical reasoning options from TCM and Western medical perspectives Illustrates clinical reasoning with real cases from clinical practice Provides detailed examination of all major types of neurological conditions encountered in clinical practice.

Orientation to the structure and imaging of the central nervous system -- The cell biology of neurons and glia -- The electrochemical basis of nerve function -- Chemical signaling in the nervous system -- Development of the nervous system -- The ventricles, choroid plexus, and cerebrospinal fluid -- The meninges -- A survey of the cerebrovascular system -- The spinal cord -- An overview of the brainstem -- The medulla oblongata -- The pons and cerebellum -- The midbrain -- A synopsis of cranial nerves of the brainstem -- The diencephalon -- The telencephalon -- The somatosensory system I : tactile discrimination and position sense -- The somatosensory system II : nociception, thermal sense, and touch -- Viscerosensory pathways -- The visual system -- The auditory system -- The vestibular system -- Olfaction and taste -- Motor system I : peripheral sensory, brainstem, and spinal influence on anterior horn neurons -- Motor system II : corticofugal systems and the control of movement -- The basal nuclei -- The cerebellum -- Visual motor systems -- Visceral motor pathways -- The hypothalamus -- The limbic system -- The cerebral cortex -- The neurologic examination.

Introduction -- Overview of the nervous system -- The neurologic history -- The general physical examination -- General outline of the neurologic examination -- Gross and microscopic anatomy of the cerebral hemispheres -- Functions of the central cortex and regional cerebral diagnosis -- The mental status examination -- Disorders of speech and language -- Agnosia, apraxia, and related disorders of higher cortical function -- An overview of brainstem and cranial nerve anatomy -- The olfactory nerve -- The optic nerve -- The ocular motor nerves -- The trigeminal nerve -- The facial nerve -- The acoustic (vestibulocochlear) nerve -- The glossopharyngeal and vagus nerves -- The spinal accessory nerve -- The hypoglossal nerve -- Brainstem and multiple cranial nerve syndromes -- Overview of the motor system -- The motor unit level -- The spinal cord level -- The corticospinal (pyramidal) level -- The extrapyramidal level -- Motor strength and power -- Muscle tone -- Muscle volume and contour -- Abnormalities of movement -- Overview of the sensory system -- The exteroceptive sensations -- The proprioceptive sensations -- The interoceptive, or visceral, sensations -- Cerebral sensory functions -- Sensory localization -- Introduction to the reflexes -- The deep tendon or muscle stretch reflexes -- The superficial (cutaneous) reflexes -- Pathologic reflexes -- Postural and righting reflexes -- Associated movements -- Cerebellar function -- Gait and station -- The autonomic nervous system -- Peripheral neuroanatomy and focal neuropathies -- Neck and back pain -- Other musculoskeletal disorders -- The blood supply of the brain -- The ventricular system and the cerebrospinal fluid -- The examination in coma -- Miscellaneous neurologic signs -- Diagnostic reasoning and neurologic differential diagnosis.

"Part of the bestselling Secrets Series, the updated sixth edition of Neurology Secrets continues to provide an up-to-date, concise overview of the most important topics in neurology today. It serves as a comprehensive introduction for medical students, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, and is also a handy reference and refresher for residents and practitioners. Lists, tables, and clear illustrations throughout expedite review, while the engaging Secrets Series format makes the text both enjoyable and readable. New lead editors, Drs. Kass and Mizrahi, join this publication from a leading neurology program to lend a fresh perspective and expert knowledge"--Publisher's description.

1. Introduction -- 2. Motor control -- 3. Motor abilities -- 4. Sensory abilities -- 5. Motor adaptation -- 6. Plasticity in the motor system -- 7. Motor reorganisation in musculoskeletal injury -- 8. Cognitive and behavioural considerations in neuromuscular rehabilitation -- 9. Managing non-traumatic pain conditions -- 10. Neuromuscular considerations in managing individuals with CNS damage -- 11. Developing a rehabilitation programme -- 12. Motor abilities, assessment to challenge: re-abilitation -- 13. Optimising proprioceptive recovery -- 14. Neuromuscular rehabilitation: summary.

Occupational Neurology a volume in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology Series, provides a comprehensive overview of the science, clinical diagnosis, and treatment for neurotoxin related neurological and psychiatric disorders. This timely collection provides not only a complete scientific reference on the chemical origin of this class of neurological and psychiatric disorders, but also a practical guide to diagnosis and treatment challenges and best practices. Handbook of Clinical Neurology Series The first volume of the Handbook of Clinical Neurology under the editorship of George Bruyn and Pierre Vinken was published in 1968. In 1982, the series was brought to an interim conclusion with the publication of the cumulative index volume (Volume 44). By that stage, the Handbook had come to represent one of the largest scientific works ever published. It enjoys a high reputation in specialist media circles throughout the world. After the series was concluded in 1982, it was realized that an update of the material was imperative. Accordingly, a revised series was planned and published over the following years, concluding with the publication of another cumulative index to both series (Volume 76-78) in 2002. Since then, George Bruyn has passed away and Pierre Vinken has retired, but the need for a further new series, incorporating advances in the field, again become necessary. Professors Michael J. Aminoff, François Boller and Dick F. Swaab have with enthusiasm taken on the responsibility of supervising the preparation of a third series, the first volumes of which were published in 2003. Now, more than 130 volumes after the first published, the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series continues to have an unparalleled reputation for providing the latest foundational research, diagnosis, and treatment protocols essential for both basic neuroscience research and clinical neurology. Provides comprehensive coverage of neurotoxins, especially in the workplace Details the latest science as the foundation for neurotoxicity diagnosis and treatment Presents coverage of the diagnosis and treatment essential for clinical neurologists and occupational medicine specialists.

"Packed with practical, up-to-date guidance, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, by Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD; Julie K. Silver, MD; and Thomas D. Rizzo, Jr., MD, helps you prevent, diagnose, and treat a wide range of musculoskeletal disorders, pain syndromes, and chronic disabling conditions in day-to-day patient care. This easy-to-use reference provides the information you need to improve patient function and performance by using both traditional and cutting-edge therapies, designing effective treatment plans, and working with interdisciplinary teams that meet your patients' current and changing needs. An easy-to-navigate format provides quick access to concise, well-illustrated coverage of every essential topic in the field"--Publisher's description.

Functional anatomy of the psoas -- Three-dimensional breathing -- Thoracopelvic cylinder and hip stabilization -- Squat -- Lunge -- Bending -- Spine and hip extension -- Conclusion.

This edition's brand-new chapter on manual medicine covers evaluation and diagnosis; formulation of the physical therapy prescription; follow-up; stretch vs. strength vs. limitation of activities; and time frames for each step of the treatment plan. Other new chapters cover pediatric rehabilitation, geriatric rehabilitation, and prosthetics and orthotics (amazon.com).

Normal skeletal anatomy and radiographic positioning -- Measruements in skeletal radiology -- Congenital anomalies and normal skeletal variants -- Scoliosis -- Natural history of spondylolysis and spondylolisthesis -- Diagnostic imaging of the musculoskeletal system -- Principles of radiologic interpretation -- Skeletal dysplasias -- Trauma -- Arthritic disorders -- Tumors and tumorlike processes -- Infection -- Hemotologic and vascular dirorders -- Nutritional metabolic and endocrine disorders -- Report writing and risk management strategies in skeletal radiology -- Radiographic artifacts -- A radiographis anthology of vertebral names -- Masqueraders of musculoskeletal disease.

Part I. Theories and concepts in the composition of Chinese herbal formulas -- Part II. Syndromes and formula composition -- Appendix I. Daily dosages for individual crude herbs above 6-9 grams -- Appendix II. Commonly used herbal combinations and their applications.

Muscles and Meridians is a unique book that breaks new conceptual ground in the realm of human movement. Exploring the connection between evolutionary biology and Chinese meridians, the volume offers a novel and effective system of diagnosis and treatment of common musculoskeletal disorders. Describes a new model of human movement - the Contractile Field model Offers a rare and serious attempt to look at whole person movement patterns - akin to 1Anatomy Trains2 but with a stronger link to vertebrate evolution and development Suggests that much of our endemic back and leg pain is due to a loss of ease in postures that are 1archetypal2 to mankind Offers a profound new understanding of the world2s oldest medical map, the Chinese meridian map.

TREATING AUTOIMMUNE DISEASES WITH CHINESE MEDICINE clearly describes the integration of Chinese and Western medicine in the treatment of autoimmune diseases. This book clearly describes how Chinese medicine can treat autoimmune diseases by clearly presenting recommendations for acupuncture point and herbal treatment when the patient presents with different symptoms, different blood results and may be taking different medications. Written by highly qualified, American-based practitioners with long experience of working in both Chinese and Western medical environmentsAddresses the use of Chinese medicine in a wide range of autoimmune diseases including rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, and psoriasisIncludes treatments using both acupuncture and Chinese herbs.