Viscero-Somatic and Somato-Visceral Effects : Viscero-somatic and Somato-visceral Effects Articles

Introduction- Viscero-Somatic and Somato-Visceral Reflexes

Arendt-Nielsen L, Schipper KP, Dimcevski G, Sumikura H, Krarup AL, Giamberardino MA, Drewes AM. Viscero-somatic reflexes in referred pain areas evoked by capsaicin stimulation of the human gut. Eur J Pain. 2008 Jul;12(5):544-51.
Beal MC. Viscerosomatic reflexes: a review. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 1985 Dec;85(12):786-801.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Burns L. Viscero-somatic and somato-visceral spinal reflexes. 1907. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2000 Apr;100(4):249-58.
Espinosa-Medina I, Saha O, Boismoreau F, Chettouh Z, Rossi F, Richardson WD, Brunet JF. The sacral autonomic outflow is sympathetic. Science. 2016 Nov 18;354(6314):893-897.
Espinosa-Medina I, Saha O, Boismoreau F, Brunet JF. The "sacral parasympathetic": ontogeny and anatomy of a myth. Clin Auton Res. 2018 Feb;28(1):13-21.
Giamberardina MA, Affaitati G, Lezzi S, Vecchiet L. Referred muscle pain and hyperalgesia from viscera. J Musculoskelet Pain 1999;7(1/2):619-9.
Hong S, Ding S, Wu F, Xi Q, Li Q, Liu Y, Zhou T, Qing C, Guo Y, Guo Y. Strong Manual Acupuncture Manipulation Could Better Inhibit Spike Frequency of the Dorsal Horn Neurons in Rats with Acute Visceral Nociception.
Evid Based Complement Alternat Med. 2015;2015:675437.
Johnston WL, Golden WJ. Segmental definition--Part IV. Updating the differential for somatic and visceral inputs. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2001 May;101(5):278-83.
Jowsey P, Perry J. Sympathetic nervous system effects in the hands following a grade III postero-anterior rotatory mobilisation technique applied to T4: a randomised, placebo-controlled trial. Man Ther. 2010 Jun;15(3):248-53.
Nansel D, Szlazak M. Somatic dysfunction and the phenomenon of visceral disease simulation: a probable explanation for the apparent effectiveness of somatic therapy in patients presumed to be suffering from true visceral disease.
J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 1995 Jul-Aug;18(6):379-97.
Rome, P. Medical Management of Pediatric and Non-Musculoskeletal Conditions by Spinal Manipulation. Chiropractic Journal of Australia. Vol 43 Number 4, Dec. 2013, p 131-136.
Rome P. Neurovertebral Influence on Visceral and ANS Function: Some of the Evidence To Date – Part II Somatovisceral. Chiropr J Aust 2010;40:9-33.
Sato A. The reflex effects of spinal somatic nerve stimulation on visceral function. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 1992 Jan;15(1):57-61.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Srbely J. Chiropractic science: a contemporary neurophysiologic paradigm. J Can Chiropr Assoc. 2010 Sep;54(3):144-6.
Van Buskirk RL. Nociceptive reflexes and the somatic dysfunction: a model. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 1990 Sep;90(9):792-4, 797-809.
Wallden M. The primal nature of core function: in rehabilitation & performance conditioning. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2013 Apr;17(2):239-48.
Welch A, Boone R. Sympathetic and parasympathetic responses to specific diversified adjustments to chiropractic vertebral subluxations of the cervical and thoracic spine. J Chiropr Med. 2008 Sep;7(3):86-93.

Introduction- Chiropractic and Osteopathy and Visceral Disease

Introduction- Fascial Techniques and Visceral Manipulation

Bordoni B, Zanier E. Skin, fascias, and scars: symptoms and systemic connections. J Multidiscip Healthc. 2013 Dec 28;7:11-24.
Bove GM, Chapelle SL. Visceral mobilization can lyse and prevent peritoneal adhesions in a rat model. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2012 Jan;16(1):76-82.
Clinical highlights: back pain caused by specific visceral lesions. Hospital Medicine 1983 Mar;82-4.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Guzzetta A, Baldini S, Bancale A, Baroncelli L, Ciucci F, Ghirri P, Putignano E, Sale A, Viegi A, Berardi N, Boldrini A, Cioni G, Maffei L. Massage accelerates brain development and the maturation of visual function. J Neurosci. 2009 May 6;29(18):6042-51
Konishi Y. Tactile stimulation with kinesiology tape alleviates muscle weakness attributable to attenuation of Ia afferents. J Sci Med Sport. 2013 Jan;16(1):45-8.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Tozzi P. Selected fascial aspects of osteopathic practice. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2012 Oct;16(4):503-19.

Introduction- Applied Kinesiology and Muscle Testing

Carpenter SA, Hoffman J, Mendel R. An investigation into the effect of organ irritation on muscle strength and spinal mobility Part 1. J Clinical Chiro. 2(6):22-23.
Carpenter SA, Hoffman J, Mendel R. An investigation into the effect of organ irritation on muscle strength and spinal mobility Part 2. J. Clinical Chiro. 3(1):46-60.
Conable KM, Rosner AL. A narrative review of manual muscle testing and implications for muscle testing research. J Chiropr Med. 2011 Sep;10(3):157-65.
Cuthbert SC, Goodheart GJ Jr. On the reliability and validity of manual muscle testing: a literature review. Chiropr Osteopat. 2007 Mar 6;15:4.
Moncayo R, Moncayo H. Evaluation of Applied Kinesiology meridian techniques by means of surface electromyography (sEMG): demonstration of the regulatory influence of antique acupuncture points. Chin Med. 2009 May 29;4:9.
Rosner A, Leisman G, Gilchriest J, Charles E, Keschner M, Minond M. Reliability and validity of therapy localization as determined from multiple examiners and instrumentation. Functional Neurology, Rehabilitation, and Ergonomics. 2015;5(3):365-386.
Rosner AL, Charles E. Therapy localization in applied kinesiology: Validation by means of blinding in a cohort study. Functional Neurology, Rehabilitation, and Ergonomics. 2016;6(2):85-96.
Rosner AL, Cuthbert SC. Applied kinesiology: distinctions in its definition and interpretation. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2012 Oct;16(4):464-87.
Schmitt WH Jr, Cuthbert SC. Common errors and clinical guidelines for manual muscle testing: "the arm test" and other inaccurate procedures. Chiropr Osteopat. 2008 Dec 19;16:16. doi: 10.1186/1746-1340-16-16.

T1-2 Heart

T3 Respiratory

T4 Gallbladder

Angus K, Asgharifar S, Gleberzon B. What effect does chiropractic treatment have on gastrointestinal (GI) disorders: a narrative review of the literature. J Can Chiropr Assoc. 2015 Jun;59(2):122-33.
Blum C. Visceral mimicry syndrome and cholecystectomy: A chiropractic case study. Proceedings of the 2006 Conference on Chiropractic Research, Chicago, IL, Sept 15-16, 2006: 161-3.
This item is available in the book collection in the library at: WB 905 P9631 2006.
Bramati-Castellarin I, Patel V, Drysdale I. Repeated-measures longitudinal study evaluating behavioural and gastrointestinal symptoms in children with autism before, during and after visceral osteopathic technique (VOT). J Bodywork & Movement Therapies. 2
Carter CT. Acute thoracolumbar pain due to cholecystitis: a case study. Chiropr Man Therap. 2015 Dec 18;23:34.
Gaby AR. Nutritional approaches to prevention and treatment of gallstones. Altern Med Rev. 2009 Sep;14(3):258-67. Review.
Heineman K. Osteopathic manipulative treatment in the management of biliary dyskinesia. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2014 Feb;114(2):129-33.
Tsai CJ, Leitzmann MF, Hu FB, Willett WC, Giovannucci EL. A prospective cohort study of nut consumption and the risk of gallstone disease in men. Am J Epidemiol. 2004 Nov 15;160(10):961-8.

T5 Stomach

T6 Pancreas

Anderson RA, Polansky MM, Bryden NA, Bhathena SJ, Canary JJ. Effects of supplemental chromium on patients with symptoms of reactive hypoglycemia. Metabolism. 1987 Apr;36(4):351-5.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Declina P, Vallee D, Mierau D. Acute pancreatitis presenting as back pain: a case report. J Canadian Chiropractic Assoc 1992; 36(2): 75-83.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Gaby AR. Adverse effects of dietary fructose. Altern Med Rev. 2005 Dec;10(4):294-306. Review.
Governa P, Baini G, Borgonetti V, Cettolin G, Giachetti D, Magnano AR, Miraldi E, Biagi M. Phytotherapy in the management of diabetes: A review. Molecules. 2018 Jan 4;23(1).
Johnson AW, Shubrook JH Jr. Role of Osteopathic Structural Diagnosis and Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment for Diabetes Mellitus and Its Complications. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2013 Nov;113(11):829-36.
LaValle JB. Hidden disruptions in metabolic syndrome: drug-induced nutrient depletion as a pathway to accelerated pathophysiology of metabolic syndrome. Altern Ther Health Med. 2006 Mar-Apr;12(2):26-31; quiz 32-3. Review.
Licciardone JC, Fulda KG, Stoll ST, Gamber RG, Cage AC. A case-control study of osteopathic palpatory findings in type 2 diabetes mellitus. Osteopath Med Prim Care. 2007 Feb 8;1:6.
Licciardone JC, Kearns CM, Hodge LM, Minotti DE. Osteopathic manual treatment in patients with diabetes mellitus and comorbid chronic low back pain: subgroup results from the OSTEOPATHIC Trial. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2013 Jun;113(6):468-78.
Liu S, Choi HK, Ford E, Song Y, Klevak A, Buring JE, Manson JE. A prospective study of dairy intake and the risk of type 2 diabetes in women. Diabetes Care. 2006 Jul;29(7):1579-84.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Nelson WA. Possible role for chiropractic in diabetes management [Diabetes Mellitus: Two Case Reports]. Chiropr Tech.1989 May;1(2):37-40.
Full text available in paper format in the library.
Oskarsson V, Sadr-Azodi O, Orsini N, Andrén-Sandberg A, Wolk A. Vegetables, fruit and risk of non-gallstone-related acute pancreatitis: a population-based prospective cohort study. Gut. 2012 Jun 27. [Epub ahead of print].
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Rizkalla SW, Taghrid L, Laromiguiere M, Huet D, Boillot J, Rigoir A, Elgrably F, Slama G. Improved plasma glucose control, whole-body glucose utilization, and lipid profile on a low-glycemic index diet in type 2 diabetic men: a randomized controlled trial
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.

T7 Spleen, Thymus, Immune

T8 Liver

T9 Adrenal

Adler GK, Kinsley BT, Hurwitz S, Mossey CJ, Goldenberg DL. Reduced hypothalamic-pituitary and sympathoadrenal responses to hypoglycemia in women with fibromyalgia syndrome. Am J Med. 1999 May;106(5):534-43.
Cuthbert S, Rosner A, Chetcuti T, Gangemi S. Correlation of manual muscle tests and salivary hormone tests in adrenal stress disorder: A retrospective case series report. Townsend Letter 2015;Jan 1.
Full text of this article is available at the following outside link:
http://www.townsendletter.com/Jan2015/adrenalstress0115.html
Fogaça Mde C, Carvalho WB, Peres Cde A, Lora MI, Hayashi LF, Verreschi IT. Salivary cortisol as an indicator of adrenocortical function in healthy infants, using massage therapy. Sao Paulo Med J. 2005 Sep 1;123(5):215-8.
Omar HR, Komarova I, El-Ghonemi M, Fathy A, Rashad R, Abdelmalak HD, Yerramadha MR, Ali Y, Helal E, Camporesi EM. Licorice abuse: time to send a warning message. Ther Adv Endocrinol Metab. 2012 Aug;3(4):125-38.
Rapaport M, Schettler P, Bresee C. A preliminary study of the effects of repeated massage on hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal and immune function in healthy individuals: A study of mechanisms of action and dosage. J Alternative and Complementary Med. 2012;1
Sampson HA. Food allergy. JAMA. 1997 Dec 10;278(22):1888-94.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Sicherer SH, Morrow EH, Sampson HA. Dose-response in double-blind, placebo-controlled oral food challenges in children with atopic dermatitis. J Allergy Clin Immunol. 2000 Mar;105(3):582-6.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Tifft C. Management of orthostatic hypotension. Hospital Medicine 1989 Mar 15;25-42.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Varma R, Ross CN. Liquorice: a root cause of secondary hypertension. JRSM Open. 2017 Jan 1;8(2):2054270416685208.

T10 Small Intestine

Chapelle SL, Bove GM. Visceral massage reduces postoperative ileus in a rat model. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2013 Jan;17(1):83-8.
Davidson R. Common Intestinal parasites in the United States Part 1. March 15, 1989:45-64.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Davidson R. Common Intestinal parasites in the United States Part 2. April, 1989:71-83.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
De Boer KF et al. Acute effects of spinal manipulation on gastrointestinal myoelectric activity in conscious rabbits. Man Med 1988;3:85-94.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Rice AD, King R, Reed ED, Patterson K, Wurn BF, Wurn LJ. Manual Physical Therapy for Non-Surgical Treatment of Adhesion-Related Small Bowel Obstructions: Two Case Reports. J Clin Med. 2013 Feb 4;2(1):1-12.
Rice AD, Patterson K, Reed ED, Wurn BF, Klingenberg B, King CR 3rd, Wurn LJ. Treating Small Bowel Obstruction with a Manual Physical Therapy: A Prospective Efficacy Study. Biomed Res Int. 2016;2016:7610387.
Rice AD, Patterson K, Reed ED, Wurn BF, Robles K, Klingenberg B, Weinstock LB, Pratt JS, King CR, Wurn LJ. Decreasing recurrent bowel obstructions, improving quality of life with physiotherapy: Controlled study. World J Gastroenterol. 2018 May 21;24(19):2
Xing L, Qu L, Chen H, Gao S. Clinical Effect of Traditional Chinese Spinal Orthopedic Manipulation in Treatment of Functional Abdominal Pain Syndrome. Complement Ther Med . 2017 Jun;32:19-24.

T11-12 Kidney, Bladder

Avorn J, Monane M, Gurwitz JH, Glynn RJ, Choodnovskiy I, Lipsitz LA. Reduction of bacteriuria and pyuria after ingestion of cranberry juice. JAMA. 1994 Mar 9;271(10):751-4.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Bhandari A et al. Reducing the risk of kidney stone recurrence. Patient Care, April 2004:26-32.
Cashley MA, Cashley MA. Chiropractic care of interstitial cystitis/painful bladder syndrome associated with pelvic lumbar spine dysfunction: a case series. J Chiropr Med. 2012 Dec;11(4):260-6.
Chung C, Stern PJ, Dufton J. Urolithiasis presenting as right flank pain: a case report. J Can Chiropr Assoc. 2013 Mar;57(1):69-75.
Cooperstein R, Lisi A, Burd A. Chiropractic management of pubic symphysis shear dysfunction in a patient with overactive bladder. J Chiropr Med. 2014 Jun;13(2):81-9.
Cuthbert SC, Rosner AL. Conservative chiropractic management of urinary incontinence using applied kinesiology: a retrospective case-series report. J Chiropr Med. 2012 Mar;11(1):49-57.
Cuthbert SC, Rosner AL. Conservative management of post-surgical urinary incontinence in an adolescent using applied kinesiology: a case report. Altern Med Rev. 2011 Jun;16(2):164-71.
Daly D, Chapple C. Relationship between overactive bladder (OAB) and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS): concurrent disorders with a common pathophysiology? BJU Int. 2013 Apr;111(4):530-1.
de Almeida BS, Sabatino JH, Giraldo PC. Effects of high-velocity, low-amplitude spinal manipulation on strength and the basal tonus of female pelvic floor muscles. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2010 Feb;33(2):109-16.
Duffy C. Applied Kinesiology management of urinary incontinence in a pediatric patient. Collected Papers of the International College of Applied Kinesiology-USA, 2004-5 Vol. 1.:21-22.
This item is available in the library book stacks at WB 905.9 C697.
El Koumi MA, Ahmed SA, Salama AM. Acupuncture efficacy in the treatment of persistent primary nocturnal enuresis. Arab J Nephrol Transplant. 2013 Sep;6(3):173-6.
Fitzgerald M, Anderson R, Potts J, et al. Randomized multicenter feasibility trial of myofascial physical therapy for the treatment of urological chronic pelvic pain syndromes. J Urol 2009 August;182(2):570-580.
Fleet JC. New support for folk remedy: cranberry juice reduces bacteruria and pyuria in elderly women. Nutr Rev. 1994 May;52(5):168-70.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Franke H, Hoesele K. Osteopathic manipulative treatment (OMT) for lower urinary tract symptoms (LUTS) in women. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2013 Jan;17(1):11-8.
Head KA. Natural approaches to prevention and treatment of infections of the lower urinary tract. Altern Med Rev. 2008 Sep;13(3):227-44.
Heaney RP. Calcium supplementation and incident kidney stone risk: a systematic review. J Am Coll Nutr. 2008 Oct;27(5):519-27.
Jaeger PH et al. Idiopathic hyperoxaluria “cured” by a short course of pyridoxine (B6): Further evidence of B6-deficiency. Clinical Research April 1986; 34:546A.
Full text of this article available by interlibrary loan request.
Jiang K, Tang K, Liu H, Xu H, Ye Z, Chen Z. Ascorbic acid supplements and kidney stones incidence among men and women: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Urol J. 2019 May 5;16(2):115-120.
Kamrath KR. Chiropractic management of a 5-year-old boy with urinary and bowel incontinence. J Chiropr Med. 2010 Mar;9(1):28-31.
Manz F, Wentz A. The importance of good hydration for the prevention of chronic diseases. Nutr Rev. 2005 Jun;63(6 Pt 2):S2-5.
Marshall K. Interstitial cystitis: understanding the syndrome. Altern Med Rev. 2003 Nov;8(4):426-37.
Messa P, Marangella M, Paganin L, Codardini M, Cruciatti A, Turrin D, Filiberto Z, Mioni G. Different dietary calcium intake and relative supersaturation of calcium oxalate in the urine of patients forming renal stones. Clin Sci (Lond). 1997 Sep;93(3):257
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Neally R, Alcantara J. Resolution of chronic nocturnal enuresis in children with Asperger’s syndrome following subluxation based chiropractic care: A case series. J Pediatr Matern & Fam Health - Chiropr. 2015 Oct 15:131-139.
Contact the library for assistance with full text of this article.
Nemett D, Fivush B, Matthews R et al. A randomized controlled trial of the effectiveness of osteopathy-based manual physical therapy in treating pediatric dysfunctional voiding. J Pediatric Urology. 2008;4:100-106.
Prezioso D et al. Dietary treatment of urinary risk factors for renal stone formation. A review of CLU Working Group. Archivio Italiano di Urologia e Andrologia 2015; 87(2):105-120.
Quin Q, Mo Q, Liu K et al. Acupuncture at homotopic acupoints exerts dual effects on bladder motility in anesthetized rats. BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine. 2015;15:267-72.
Schneider MS, King LR, Surwit RS. Kegel exercises and childhood incontinence: a new role for an old treatment. J Pediatr. 1994 Jan;124(1):91-2.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Thamilselvan S, Menon M. Vitamin E therapy prevents hyperoxaluria-induced calcium oxalate crystal deposition in the kidney by improving renal tissue antioxidant status. BJU Int. 2005 Jul;96(1):117-26.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Tozzi P, Bongiorno D, Vitturini C. Low back pain and kidney mobility: local osteopathic fascial manipulation decreases pain perception and improves renal mobility. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2012 Jul;16(3):381-91.
van Poecke AJ, Cunliffe C. Chiropractic treatment for primary nocturnal enuresis: a case series of 33 consecutive patients. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2009 Oct;32(8):675-81.
Wolcott CC. An atypical case of nephrolithiasis with transient remission of symptoms following spinal manipulation. J Chiropr Med. 2010 Jun;9(2):69-72.
Malihi Z, Wu Z, Stewart AW, Lawes CM, Scragg R. Hypercalcemia, hypercalciuria, and kidney stones in long-term studies of vitamin D supplementation: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Am J Clin Nutr. 2016 Oct;104(4):1039-1051.
Zarintaj M et al. Hypercalcemia, hypercalciuria, and kidney stones in long-term studies of vitamin D supplementation: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Am J Clin Nutr 2016 Oct;104(4):1039-1051.
Zisman AL. Effectiveness of treatment modalities on kidney stone recurrence. Clin J Am Soc Nephrol. 2017 Oct 6;12(10):1699-1708.

L1, 2, 4--Ileocecal valve, appendix, colon

Alcantara J, Alcantara JD, Alcantara J. An integrative review of the literature on the chiropractic care of infants with constipation. Complement Ther Clin Pract. 2014 Feb;20(1):32-6.
Alcantara J, Mayer DM. The successful chiropractic care of pediatric patients with chronic constipation: A case series and selective review of the literature Clin Chiropr. 2008;11:138-47.
Archambault-Ezenwa L, Brewer J, Markowski A. A comprehensive physical therapy approach including visceral manipulation after failed biofeedback therapy for constipation. Archambault-Ezenwa L, Brewer J, Markowski A. T
Attali T, Bouchoucha M, Benamouzig R. Treatment of refractory irritable bowel syndrome with visceral osteopathy: Short-term and long-term results of a randomized trial. J Digestive Diseases. 2013;14:654-661.
Baltazar GA, Betler MP, Akella K, Khatri R, Asaro R, Chendrasekhar A. Effect of osteopathic manipulative treatment on incidence of postoperative ileus and hospital length of stay in general surgical patients. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2013 Mar;113(3):204-9.
Erratum in: J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2013 Apr;113(4):271.
Bramati-Castellarin I, Patel VB, Drysdale IP. Repeat-measures Longitudinal Study Evaluating Behavioural and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Children With Autism Before, During and After Visceral Osteopathic Technique (VOT).
J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2016 Jul;20(3):461-70.
Blum, C. The resolution of chronic colitis with chiropractic care leading to increased fertility – a case study. Journal of Vertebral Subluxation Research, 2003 Aug 31:1-5.
Please contact the library staff for full text of this article.
Caso ML. Evaluation of Chapman's neurolymphatic reflexes via applied kinesiology: a case report of low back pain and congenital intestinal abnormality. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2004 Jan;27(1):66.
Cohen-Lewe A. Osteopathic manipulative treatment for colonic inertia. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2013 Mar;113(3):216-20.
Erratum in: J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2013 Jun;113(6):449.
Davis J. Resolution of chronic constipation in a neonate following chiropractic care to reduce vertebral subluxation with Gonstead technique [case report]. J Pediatr Matern & Fam Health - Chiropr. 2011 Sum;2011(3):Online access only p 92-97.
Please contact library staff to request full text of this article.
Diaz-Mancha JA, Heredia-Rizo AM, Fernandez-Seguín LM, Albornoz-Cabello M. Visceral treatment and nutritional patterns in the management of low back pain: a case study. J Altern Complement Med. 2014 Aug;20(8):661-2.
Florance B-M, Frin G, Dainese R, et al. Osteopathy improves the severity of irritable bowel syndrome: a pilot randomized sham-controlled study. Eur J Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2012;24(8):944-949.
Guarino A, Lo Vecchio A, Canani RB. Probiotics as prevention and treatment for diarrhea. Curr Opin Gastroenterol. 2009 Jan;25(1):18-23.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary logan request.
Hewitt, E. Chiropractic treatment of a 7-month-old with chronic constipation: A case report. Chiropractic Technique. 1993 Aug;5(3):101-3.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Holbrook B. Chiropractic treatment of childhood constipation: A review of the literature. J Clin Chiropr Pediatr. 2005 ;6(3):427-431.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Hu C, Ye M, Huang Q. Effects of manual therapy on bowel function of patients with spinal cord injury. J Phys Ther Sci. 2013 Jun;25(6):687-8.
Kamrath KR. Chiropractic management of a 5-year-old boy with urinary and bowel incontinence. J Chiropr Med. 2010 Mar;9(1):28-31.
Koo JP, Choi JH, Kim NJ. The effects of maitland orthopedic manual therapy on improving constipation. J Phys Ther Sci. 2016 Oct;28(10):2857-2861.
Lamb K, Zhong F, Gebhart GF, Bielefeldt K. Experimental colitis in mice and sensitization of converging visceral and somatic afferent pathways. Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol. 2006 Mar;290(3):G451-7.
Lin CH, Yang HC, Cheng CS, Yen CE. Effects of infant massage on jaundiced neonates undergoing phototherapy. Ital J Pediatr. 2015 Nov 25;41:94.
Marko SK. Case study: The effect of chiropractic care on an infant with problems of constipation. Chiropr Pediatr. 1994 Dec;1(3):23-24.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
McSweeney TP, Thomson OP, Johnston R. The immediate effects of sigmoid colon manipulation on pressure pain thresholds in the lumbar spine. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2012 Oct;16(4):416-23.
Mertz H. Review article: visceral hypersensitivity. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2003 Mar 1;17(5):623-33.
Miller JE, Newell D, Bolton JE. Efficacy of chiropractic manual therapy on infant colic: a pragmatic single-blind, randomized controlled trial. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2012 Oct;35(8):600-7.
Miller JE, Phillips HL. Long-term effects of infant colic: a survey comparison of chiropractic treatment and nontreatment groups. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2009 Oct;32(8):635-8.
Moloney RD, O'Mahony SM, Dinan TG, Cryan JF. Stress-induced visceral pain: toward animal models of irritable-bowel syndrome and associated comorbidities. Front Psychiatry. 2015 Feb 16;6:15.
Müller A, Franke H, Resch KL, Fryer G. Effectiveness of osteopathic manipulative therapy for managing symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome: a systematic review. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2014 Jun;114(6):470-9.
Qu L, Xing L, Norman W, Chen H, Gao S. Irritable bowel syndrome treated by traditional Chinese spinal orthopedic manipulation. J Tradit Chin Med. 2012 Dec;32(4):565-70.
Redly M. The effects of chiropractic care on a patient with chronic constipation. J Can Chiropr Assoc 2001;45(3):185-191.
Shen YH, Nahas R. Complementary and alternative medicine for treatment of irritable bowel syndrome. Can Fam Physician. 2009 Feb;55(2):143-8.
Sinclair M. The use of abdominal massage to treat chronic constipation. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2011 Oct;15(4):436-45.
Staiano A, Andreotti MR, Greco L, Basile P, Auricchio S. Long-term follow-up of children with chronic idiopathic constipation. Dig Dis Sci. 1994 Mar;39(3):561-4.
Strate LL, Liu YL, Syngal S, Aldoori WH, Giovannucci EL. Nut, corn, and popcorn consumption and the incidence of diverticular disease. AMA. 2008 Aug 27;300(8):907-14.
Verne GN, Price DD, Callam CS, Zhang B, Peck J, Zhou Q. Viscerosomatic facilitation in a subset of IBS patients, an effect mediated by N-methyl-D-aspartate receptors. J Pain. 2012 Sep;13(9):901-9.

L3-5 Thyroid

Abraham G, Brownstein D. A simple procedure combining the evaluation of whole body sufficiency for iodine with the efficiency of the body to utilize peripheral iodide: The triple test. The Original Internist, 2007, March:17-23.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library's publication file drawer.
Cooper DS, Biondi B. Subclinical thyroid disease. Lancet. 2012 Mar 24;379(9821):1142-54.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Gaby AR. Sub-laboratory hypothyroidism and the empirical use of Armour thyroid. Altern Med Rev. 2004 Jun;9(2):157-79.
Kelly G. Body temperature variability (Part 1): a review of the history of body temperature and its variability due to site selection, biological rhythms, fitness, and aging. Altern Med Rev. 2006 Dec;11(4):278-93.
Kelly GS. Body temperature variability (Part 2): masking influences of body temperature variability and a review of body temperature variability in disease. Altern Med Rev. 2007 Mar;12(1):49-62.
Kelly GS. Peripheral metabolism of thyroid hormones: a review. Altern Med Rev. 2000 Aug;5(4):306-33.
Moncayo R, Moncayo H, Ulmer H, Kainz H. New diagnostic and therapeutic approach to thyroid-associated orbitopathy based on applied kinesiology and homeopathic therapy. J Altern Complement Med. 2004 Aug;10(4):643-50.
Patrick L. Thyroid disruption: mechanism and clinical implications in human health. Altern Med Rev. 2009 Dec;14(4):326-46. Review.
Erratum in: Altern Med Rev. 2010 Apr;15(1):58.

L3-5 Male Female

Abaraogu UO, Igwe SE, Tabansi-Ochiogu CS, Duru DO. A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of the Efficacy of Manipulative Therapy in Women With Primary Dysmenorrhea. Explore (NY) . Nov-Dec 2017;13(6):386-392.
Abraham GE. Nutritional factors in the etiology of the premenstrual tension syndromes. J Reprod Med. 1983 Jul;28(7):446-64.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Bablis P, Pollard H, McHardy A. Two reports of resolution of polycystic ovary syndrome-induced anovulation in females receiving neuro emotional technique. Chiropr J Aust 2006;36:2-8.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Barassi G, Bellomo RG, Porreca A, Di Felice PA, Prosperi L, Saggini R. Somato-Visceral Effects in the Treatment of Dysmenorrhea: Neuromuscular Manual Therapy and Standard Pharmacological Treatment. J Altern Complement Med. 2018 Mar;24(3):291-299.
Benner D, Blum C. CMRT and acupuncture in the treatment of dysmenorrhea (oligomenorhea): A case report. J Chiropr Ed. Spring 2012;26(1):85-117.
Berkowitz MR. Resolution of hypothyroidism after correction of somatovisceral reflex dysfunction by refusion of the cervical spine. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2015 Jan;115(1):46-9.
Cook K, Rasmussen S. Visceral manipulation and the treatment of uterine fibroids: A case report. ACA Journal of Chiropractic, Dec. 1992:39-41.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Cuthbert S and Rosner A. Menopause, Chiropractic Examination and Treatment, and Salivary Hormone Levels: Correlations and Outcomes. Chiropr J Aust. 2013 Sep;43(3).
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Engelhardt PF, Riedl CR. Effects of one-year treatment with isoflavone extract from red clover on prostate, liver function, sexual function, and quality of life in men with elevated PSA levels and negative prostate biopsy findings.
Urology. 2008 Feb;71(2):185-90; discussion 190.
Comment in Urology. 2008 May;71(5):987.
Full text of this article and the comment are available by interlibrary loan request.
Field T, Diego M, Hernandez-Reif M, Medina L, Delgado J, Hernandez A. Yoga and massage therapy reduce prenatal depression and prematurity. J Bodyw Mov Ther. 2012 Apr;16(2):204-9.
Grant WB. An ecologic study of dietary links to prostate cancer. Altern Med Rev. 1999 Jun;4(3):162-9.
Goyal K, Goyal M, Narkeesh K, et al. The Effectiveness of Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment in an Abnormal Uterine Bleeding Related Pain and Health Related Quality of Life (HR-QoL) - A Case Report. 2017 Jul;21(3):569-573.
Head K. Premenstrual Syndrome: Nutritional and alternative approaches. Altern Med Rev 1997;2(1):12-25.
Hoffman D. Understanding multisymptom presentations in chronic pelvic pain: the inter-relationships between the viscera and myofascial pelvic floor dysfunction. Curr Pain Headache Rep. 2011 Oct;15(5):343-6.
Holtzman DA, Petrocco-Napuli KL, Burke JR. Prospective case series on the effects of lumbosacral manipulation on dysmenorrhea. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 2008 Mar;31(3):237-46.
Hondras MA, Long CR, Brennan PC. Spinal manipulative therapy versus a low force mimic maneuver for women with primary dysmenorrhea: a randomized, observer-blinded, clinical trial. Pain. 1999 May;81(1-2):105-14.
Jamilian M, Foroozanfard F, Mirhosseini N, Kavossian E, Aghadavod E, Bahmani F, Ostadmohammadi V, Kia M, Eftekhar T, Ayati E, Mahdavinia M, Asemi Z. Effects of melatonin supplementation on hormonal, inflammatory, genetic, and oxidative stress parameters i
Jensen AM, Bewketu B, Sanford D. Intermittent low back pain referred from a uterine adenomyosis: a case report. J Chiropr Med. 2011 Mar;10(1):64-9.
Katz AE. The holistic approach to prostate health. Integrative Medicine, June/July 2007;6(3):50-60.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Kramp ME. Combined manual therapy techniques for the treatment of women with infertility: a case series. J Am Osteopath Assoc. 2012 Oct;112(10):680-4.
Marshall K. Polycystic ovary syndrome: clinical considerations. Altern Med Rev. 2001 Jun;6(3):272-92.
Marriott, C. Chiropractic Care of a Child with Cryptorchidism. J Clinical Chiropractic. 2009; 10:599-602.
Moskowitz D. A comprehensive review of the safety and efficacy of bioidentical hormones for the management of menopause and related health risks. Altern Med Rev. 2006 Sep;11(3):208-23.
Page K, Brownie S, Wohlmuth H. Natural management options for menopause. Integrative Medicine, Feb/March 2005;4(1):20-28.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Philp HA. Hot flashes--a review of the literature on alternative and complementary treatment approaches. Altern Med Rev. 2003 Aug;8(3):284-302.
Rice A, Patterson K, Wakefield L et al. Ten-year retrospective study on the efficacy of a manual physical therapy to treat female infertility. Alternative Therapies 2015;21(3):36-44.
Rowell RM, Rylander SJ. Low-back pain, leg pain, and chronic idiopathic testicular pain treated with chiropractic care. J Altern Complement Med. 2012 Apr;18(4):420-2.
Sampalis F, Bunea R, Pelland MF, Kowalski O, Duguet N, Dupuis S. Evaluation of the effects of Neptune Krill Oil on the management of premenstrual syndrome and dysmenorrhea. Altern Med Rev. 2003 May;8(2):171-9.
Spears LG. A narrative review of medical, chiropractic, and alternative health practices in the treatment of primary dysmenorrhea. J Chiropr Med. 2005 Spring;4(2):76-88.
van Benten E, Pool J, Mens J, Pool-Goudzwaard A. Recommendations for physical therapists on the treatment of lumbopelvic pain during pregnancy: a systematic review. J Orthop Sports Phys Ther. 2014 Jul;44(7):464-73, A1-15.
Walker M, Aronson KJ, King W, Wilson JW, Fan W, Heaton JP, MacNeily A, Nickel JC, Morales A. Dietary patterns and risk of prostate cancer in Ontario, Canada. Int J Cancer. 2005 Sep 10;116(4):592-8.
Full text of this article is available by interlibrary loan request.
Wallas JM. Treatment for painful menses: a nutritional and botanical approach. American Journal of Natural Medicine, Dec. 1998;5(10):21-29.
Full text of this article is available in paper format in the library.
Walsh MJ, Polus BI. A randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial on the efficacy of chiropractic therapy on premenstrual syndrome. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 1999 Nov-Dec;22(9):582-5.
Walsh MJ, Polus BI. The frequency of positive common spinal clinical examination findings in a sample of premenstrual syndrome sufferers. J Manipulative Physiol Ther. 1999 May;22(4):216-20.
Wurn BF, Wurn LJ, King CR, Heuer MA, Roscow AS, Hornberger K, Scharf ES. Treating fallopian tube occlusion with a manual pelvic physical therapy. Altern Ther Health Med. 2008 Jan-Feb;14(1):18-23.
Wurn BF, Wurn LJ, King CR, Heuer MA, Roscow AS, Scharf ES, Shuster JJ. Treating female infertility and improving IVF pregnancy rates with a manual physical therapy technique. MedGenMed. 2004 Jun 18;6(2):51.

Accessing Full Text

The article links included on this guide may lead to PubMed, Index to Chiropractic Literature, or a journal publisher. Please see each below for details on accessing full text.

PubMed

Access full text in PubMed by clicking on the Logan Full Text icon. If we have full text, you will be taken to the PDF or a link to access. If we do not, you will see an interlibrary loan link to request the article (free).

Index to Chiropractic Literature

Look for a link in the URL field. If one is included, click it to access the full text and then look for a pdf of the article where available. If a link is not included in the URL field, look up the journal title in the Journal Holdings List to find out if Logan has online or paper access to that journal.

Publisher Site

The publisher site will display the summary or html version of the article. Look for a PDF link to view the entire article as it would appear in the journal.

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

library@logan.edu
636-230-1788
Text a Librarian: 636-200-5426
Schedule an Appointment

Interlibrary Loan

Need full text of an article? It's simple!

First check to make sure we do no have access by looking up the journal in the Journal Holdings List.

If we do not have access, then put in an interlibrary loan request through the form below.

Interlibrary Loan Form Log in with your Logan credentials. Choose Create Request and fill out the information.
Journal Holdings Browse Logan's Journal Holdings list by journal title. This is a searchable catalog of all of the journals Logan students, faculty, and staff are able to access.