LibGuides: Faculty Resources: Journals / Publications

Journal Holdings List

Selected Journals

Academe Articles, reports, book reviews and news for members of the American Association of University Professors.
Academic Matters: The Journal of the Higher Education Academic Matters explores issues of relevance to higher education in Ontario, other provinces in Canada, and globally. It is intended to be a forum for thoughtful and thought-provoking, original and engaging discussion of current trends in post-secondary education and consideration of academe’s future direction.
Advances in Medical Education and Practice An international, peer reviewed, open access journal that aims to present and publish research on Medical Education covering medical, dental, nursing, and allied health care professional education. The journal covers undergraduate education, postgraduate training, and continuing medical education including emerging trends and innovative models linking education, research, and health care services.
BMC Medical Education BMC Medical Education is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles in relation to the training of healthcare professionals, including undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education. The journal has a special focus on curriculum development, evaluations of performance, assessment of training needs and evidence-based medicine.
Chronicle of Higher Education News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
Clinical Teacher
Diverse: Issues in Higher Education Covers issues & events affecting diverse groups in higher education.
EDUCAUSE Review EDUCAUSE takes a broad look at current developments and trends in information technology, how they may affect the college/university as an institution, and what these mean for higher education and society.
Faculty Focus: Higher Ed Teaching Strategies from Magna Publications
Journal of Chiropractic Education The mission of The Journal of Chiropractic Education (JCE) is to promote excellence in chiropractic education through the publication of research and scholarly articles concerned with educational theory, methods, and content relevant to the practice of chiropractic; to encourage and contribute to the professional development of chiropractic educators; and to recognize their achievements.
Journal of Effective Teaching Focus on effective teaching and the scholarship of teaching including pedagogy, innovations in teaching and learning, and classroom experiences in the form of a scholarly communication.
Journal of Higher Education Published in affiliation with the American Association for Higher Education. Articles, review essays and book reviews dealing with all aspects of higher education.
Journal of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning The Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL) is a forum for the dissemination of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in higher education for the community of teacher-scholars.
Medical Education Online
Perspectives on Medical Education Perspectives on Medical Education aims to provide an international platform for innovation and research in health professions education.

Journal Holdings List

Journal Holdings List
Browse Logan's Journal Holdings list by journal title. This is a searchable catalog of all of the journals Logan students, faculty, and staff are able to access.

Locating Articles for Courses

When searching for articles to use in an online course, it is best to use items which are within Logan's subscriptions, or are open access and then post a link to the full text. Directly posting a PDF could result in potentially breaking copyright law, therefore we suggest always using the link in order to remain compliant. Most links need to be specially constructed in order to allow the off-campus user to access the resource.

Check for full text access to an article by looking up the journal in the Journal Holdings or by searching PubMed or EBSCOHost:

Journal Holdings Browse Logan's Journal Holdings list by journal title. This is a searchable catalog of all of the journals Logan students, faculty, and staff are able to access.

Look up the journal by title. If we have that journal, you will see a link with a date range, follow the link to the full text site and then locate the article through the search, or by year/volume/issue/pagination.

Databases A-Z A list of all Logan subscription databases, along with freely available resources. Use these to search for information by subject.

Go to the library’s Databases and select a database to search in.
- PubMed (must use PubMed through the library – do not just go to pubmed.gov)
  - Search the article’s title in the search box (or search for an article using Single Citation Matcher), or search with keywords to locate articles by subject.
    - Locate an article and then click on the title to view the full record with the abstract.
      - If we have the article, you will see a dark blue Logan Online icon. Click it and follow to full text.
- EBSCOhost - This contains several databases, so click on Continue at the first screen to search them all at once.
  - Search for articles by subject, or enter the title of an article that you already have.
    - If we have the article, you will see a PDF or link to access under the record. To get the permalink for the article, click on the article's title. Then on the right side menu, click on permalink.

After you locate an article, you will need to construct a permalink (unless it is open access). This link will run through Logan’s proxy server and allow the user to authenticate as affiliated with Logan University. Setting up the permalink depends on which method you found the article. Visit our tutorial page on creating permalinks. The process can be tedious for some resources, so feel free to contact us and we will set them up for you.

Creating Permalinks Tutorial Page

If you have an article, which is not in Logan’s library collection, and not open access, you can contact the publisher directly to seek permission to use it in your course. Sometimes they will grant this permission. If they do, you need to keep a record of any communication.

The librarians are always happy to help with looking up articles and setting up permalinks. Feel free to contact us anytime!