Skip to main content

Tutorials: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

How to use specific library resources such as databases, information literacy modules, eBooks, and archival materials.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.

The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

FULL TEXT - Look for the HTML or PDF icons under or beside the abstract to view each review in full text.

PEER REVIEWED - Articles located in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are considered peer reviewed and are indexed in MEDLINE.

 Sample Review - Manipulation or Mobilisation for Neck Pain

 Each Review Contains:

  • Title, citation details and contact information
  • Abstract
  • Text of the review with an introduction, materials and methods, results, discussion and conclusions, standard tables and figures
  • References

Need help searching EBSCOHost - Tutorial

PubMed may also be used to search for Cochrane Reviews. From the PubMed main page, choose "Single Citation Matcher." Type in Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews in the Journal box field.  Enter any search terms in the "Title words" box and click Search.

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

library@logan.edu
636-230-1788
Text a Librarian: 636-200-5426