Skip to main content

Tutorials: PubMed

How to use specific library resources such as databases, information literacy modules, eBooks, and archival materials.

PubMed

NLM Tutorials

PubMed Search Hints

Use the library's link for PubMed.  This will enable you to access our paid subscriptions.

PubMed contains millions of citations and abstracts and provides links to full text when available. If you need an article that is not included in Logan's collection, contact us to order it by interlibrary loan.

FULL TEXT - Add the string below after your search terms to search only articles that you can access through Logan or that are freely available online. 

AND (loprovmoclcclib [filter] OR free full text[sb])

Example (if you are searching for pediatric related articles), enter into the PubMed search box: pediatrics AND (loprovmoclcclib [filter] OR free full text[sb])

Access full text in PubMed by clicking on the Logan icons. 

                         

LOGAN ONLINE- link goes to full text or pdf file. 
LOGAN PAPER - paper copy of the journal is available to copy or checkout in the library.

PEER REVIEWED - Information found in PubMed is generally considered peer reviewed.  See the box below for complete details.

Helpful tips:

  • Use and in between terms to search them together. Example: chiropractic and headache
  • Use or in between terms to search either term. Example: chiropractic or manipulation
  • Place quotes around phrases.  Example: "manual therapy"
  • Place parenthesis around groups of terms to combine with other terms or groups.  Example: (chiropractic and manipulation and "manual therapy") and headache

PubMed & Peer Review

Information found in PubMed that indicates it is "indexed by MEDLINE" is considered peer reviewed. Look for the phrase "indexed by MEDLINE" under the citation or abstract information.

PubMed does not provide a search filter to limit to only peer reviewed articles. For other citations, look up the journal title in the NCBI Journals Database, click on the journal title, find a publisher's website link and go to that website. Look for something on the page that gives details about the journal and then read through it to find if the journal goes through a peer review process. 

PubMed Video Tutorial 1 - Keyword Searching & Accessing Logan's Full Text